Skip to content

Neal + Amanda : Life’s a Beach

August 16, 2009

UPDATE: Neal and Amanda’s slideshow is online and ready for your eyes! Enjoy!
…..
amandaNeal-14

amandaNeal-12

Amanda’s dream was to marry on a southern tropical beach surrounded by their closest family and friends. When it didn’t seem that the people who meant the most to them could all make it she set her sights on a unique location for her beach wedding…her own backyard (which is in Eastport, Newfoundland.

If you were in the room, you might have heard her parents say something like, ‘Amanda, we don’t have a beach in our backyard!” That didn’t stop her dream and since her dad is a contractor and a dreamer like her he put himself (and Amanda’s brother’s) to work. And built. her. a. beach.

Why didn’t I think of that when I got married? I dunno, but I have to say that a tropical beach wedding in my hometown in NL was a heck of a way to spend a thursday night. It was beautiful and I truly felt honored to have been a part of it.

This was Neal and Amanda’s Sneak Peek.

sneek_NAB

Now for the rest.

They chose to have a First Look. This means they saw each other before the ceremony. I set Neal up on one side of a bridge. I loved the anticipation as Neal listened to Amanda walk across the bridge. They also chose to have no wedding party. So it was just the three of us for the afternoon, very peaceful and very romantic.  I love how Amanda approvingly inspects Neal’s wedding attire.
amandaNeal-2

amandaNeal-4

amandaNeal-9

This is one of my favorite’s of the day.  Neal was a real trooper after being blinded by my flash a few times…and then a few more times. Sorry Neal.
amandaNeal-8

amandaNeal-7

amandaNeal-1

Their sunset ceremony was absolutely perfect, followed by a moonlit reception.
amandaNeal-15

sneek_NA-0541

amandaNeal-17

Congrats guys. I hope all your plans for the near future come true, and mostly that you live happily ever after!

PS. I have way too many great photos of Neal and Amanda so stay tuned for their slideshow.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    August 16, 2009 5:3 3

    I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love these photos… what a fantastic idea for a wedding at home and what a great looking bride and groom! WTG guys!

    BTW, Neal, I think the truck one (which rocks) should be ur new profile pic. haha

  2. erica permalink
    August 16, 2009 5:3 3

    Amazing, love the barn/shed shot, totally hot!!!

  3. Pamela permalink
    August 16, 2009 5:3 3

    Awesome….Love all the shots…

  4. Stephanie permalink
    August 16, 2009 5:3 3

    These pics are absolutely amazing!! I wouldn’t even believe this was in NL!

  5. Amanda permalink
    August 16, 2009 5:3 3

    Awesome pics Charla!!! Still can’t wait to see all of them! The barn shot is very cool! I can’t comment on all of them because they are all wicked!!! Thank you again for everything!!! U rock!

  6. August 16, 2009 5:3 3

    Thanks Amanda. I was going to wait until I had the slideshow ready to post anything but I figured it would be nice to show a few more anyway. The slideshow is just around the corner!

  7. Beulah permalink
    August 16, 2009 5:3 3

    Beautiful photos, beautiful bride and groom.
    They must feel very privileged to have parents who could and did provide so nice of a setting for their wedding, I can’t decide which photo I like best, they are all unique to a Newfoundland wedding. Beautiful!

  8. Amanda permalink
    August 16, 2009 5:3 3

    I am a very lucky girl for many reasons. Neal and I thank our lucky stars every day for our wonderful families and we feel very priviledged to have parents who go above and beyond to ensure their childrens happiness! We are truly blessed. 🙂

  9. LoriMoss permalink
    August 16, 2009 5:3 3

    Awww what a beautiful wedding! Amanda is/was sooooo incredibly beautiful…I know I keep using the ‘B’ word but it’s true!

  10. Clarice permalink
    August 17, 2009 5:3 3

    It truly was a beautiful wedding… Neal and Amanda I was so thrilled to be part of your wedding day celebrations.who says you have to go south to get married when we have this tropical paradise we call the “road to the beaches” here in NL.I’m sure we will see more wedding settings like this from now on.
    and Charla you captured the moment so well with your photography.
    congratulations..Neal and Amanda.Can’t wait to see the slide show…

  11. Colleen Doyle permalink
    August 17, 2009 5:3 3

    Congrats Neal and Amanda! You looked absolutely beautiful…..you definately had a fairytale wedding….the pics are beautiful!

  12. Sherisse Moriarty permalink
    August 18, 2009 5:3 3

    Congratulations Amanda and Neal!! What an amazing assortment of photos!! You both looked absolutely beautiful and I cannot WAIT to see some more fabulous pictures (great job Charla)!! All photos were wonderful but the shed pic?! wow!! Like something you’d see in a magazine somewhere!! I hope you have a long, long happy life together!!

  13. Rhea Hancock permalink
    August 18, 2009 5:3 3

    Congrats Amanda and Neal, U must be so thrilled. Your Wedding was so Amazing. So happy I got to be there. Charla… Omg. Your photography is out of this world! Gorgeous Couple.. Stunning Shots. And I especially love the Shed shot 2.. Ooooh lala. lol. All the best 2 you both. Be seeing u soon.

  14. Beulah permalink
    August 27, 2009 5:3 3

    Love how the sideshow begins.
    So-o-o-o many great photos.

  15. Lisa Babstock permalink
    August 28, 2009 5:3 3

    Congrats Amanda and Neal! Wow Amanda u looked stunning, too bad I didn’t get to attend the reception but I was in my hometown, I heard the beach set up was beautiful and I can now see that this was true. The pics are breath taking, some of the most beautiful wedding pics I have ever seen. Take care, all the best to you both:)

  16. Carolyn & Steven Stanley permalink
    September 12, 2009 5:3 3

    Beautiful pictures Charla you have an amazing talent.
    Congratulations Neal and Amanda you both look stunning. The pictures are fabulous and something you will treasure forever. See you next time we are in Newfoundland. All the best in your life together.
    Steven, Carolyn and Hannah Stanley

  17. Barb permalink
    September 24, 2010 5:3 3

    Charla, your photos are always spectacular and definitely a treat to see.

  18. CHRISTINE permalink
    September 27, 2010 5:3 3

    WOW SEEN THESE ON FACEBOOK…EXCELLENT SHOTS…GREAT PHOTOGRAPHY!!!

Leave a comment