Skip to content

My Bag

March 13, 2009

Asked by photographers and clients alike is the question “What’s in your bag?”  And “Should I get one?”  The second question is almost impossible to answer without discussing your style of photography but I thought I’d tell you about my favorite items to use on a shoot.

First I want to show you my bags. My Jill-e is able to take my equipment all over the world. It’s beautiful and carry’s almost everything I need…including my laptop. For all you airport hoppers I must warn you, when fully loaded it’s really heavy and is easily dropped on heads in airplane isles (not spoke of from experience). This one is the large roller bag.

bag-4

Meet my Shootsac. My Jill-e gets my equipment from A to B but my Shootsac keeps my most prized possessions right by side all day long.

bag-2

Now that I have something great to carry my babies here are my two favorite babies.
Canon 5D Mark II
Canon 5D

bag-95

bag-5

Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L USM (with 1.4x extender) – great for capturing candids from afar
Canon 50mm f/1.4 – surprisingly it’s a staple…for now anyways
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM- can’t live without this wide angle
Right now these are my fave’s.
UPDATE: New fave: Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM (not pictured here) This lens is my workhorse.

bag-18b

Pocket Wizards. I love them because they help me shoot after dark without being dependent on a flash mounted on my camera. They let me be creative when there is no natural light to be found.
bag-3

I always bring some kind of food and water on a long wedding day shoot. In the olden days I use to pack sandwiches, salads and all sorts of yummy things…only to see them get hot and soggy after being forgotten about all day in my car. Now I keep things like nuts, cheese, and small fruit on hand to keep me fueled and hydrated.

Keeping starvation at bay and energy levels high are still an ongoing battle for me on wedding days. I would love to hear your tips!
bag-63b

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2009 5:3 3

    Pocket Wizards rock my world.

  2. Annette permalink
    March 13, 2009 5:3 3

    Great camera wow! I just got some info on the pocket wizard…great little gadget hey! I borrowed a friend’s Nikon SB-26shotshoe flash and a Cactus wireless flash trigger. Been fooling around with it for a few days. Since I have no umbrella or softbox I got a little creative with a white lampshade, tripod and a bungy cord! Love the tips!

  3. LoriMoss permalink
    March 13, 2009 5:3 3

    Must.have.pocket.wizards….
    and your new 200mm!

  4. March 14, 2009 5:3 3

    Outstanding. Makes my trigger finger itch to buy equipment again. I am an addict.

  5. March 14, 2009 5:3 3

    Do you read strobist.com? And almonds are my fav “pick me up” besides a great coffee…

  6. johnny fitz permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:3 3

    after reading your page ,that answered my 1st question. 2nd question is, which do you find better, film or digital ?

  7. August 24, 2009 5:3 3

    @Johnny Fitz: I loved film when I used it. I will never forget my darkroom days and I think that someday film will become a hobby of mine again. But right now I LOVE digital and as a professional I would never consider anything else.

  8. January 4, 2010 5:3 3

    great photos you take. nice blog!

  9. Steven Ste.Croix permalink
    April 9, 2010 5:3 3

    Starvation while shooting.
    I always try to take along some nuts, cashews, “Oatmeal to Go” (though it can stick in your teeth), and grapes for hunger and thirst (in a container so they don’t get crushed), and water or juice. Sometimes proper hydration will push the hunger back.
    Take care,
    Steven – Montreal

Leave a Reply

