Skip to content

A Polaroid Christmas

January 4, 2010

A more accurate title for this post would be a ‘Fuji Instax Mini Christmas’.  My ever loving husband surprised me on Christmas morning with a little nostalgia. I was nervous while opening my presents as it was  a mere week and a half  before Christmas when I sent Ryan the link to buy me this baby. I knew that Christmas wouldn’t be the same without this baby under the tree. And Ryan and photojojo did not disappoint.

What is a polaroid?  It’s a instant camera that prints the image immediately and directly from the camera.  The image slowly appears on a credit card size of paper right before your eyes.  It’s great fun for the young and old!

Why a polaroid when there are so many advances in digital photography?  I don’t know. Sometimes it’s just nice to go back to basics, to be forced to take a photo for what it is. Since my digital ways have made me too impatient to return to film I opted for instant!  My first few frames on Christmas day quickly reminded me that direct flash and crappy viewfinders make for ‘interesting’ images. I also wasn’t prepared for the preciousness of each print. I only had 20 frames of film to use up.  I didn’t want to go through them too quickly and at almost $2 a frame I really didn’t want to mess up.

I became the photographer who says, ‘everyone smile, say cheese, look this way, don’t blink, smile, stand still, look this way…’

I’m off now to order lots of film so I don’t feel pressured to make a perfect frame with every click of the shutter.  I’ll be back sometime in 2010 with a few new polaroid creations.

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! Here’s to a blessed 2010.

….

The first polaroid is of Liam and Jess on Christmas morning.
Christmas Morning Boys

This is me with my sister and some cousins on Christmas day. The first photo has the ever beautiful Lori Moss and the bottom photo my ‘little’ cousins Joel and Jared!
Polaroid Photography

Next is my parents before they headed south on Boxing day. The bottom images are Ryan + Me and my sister and husband.

Some friends, Wanda + Darrin, on New Years Eve.

A little Monopoly City action over the holidays.

And a closer look at me and Ryan taken New Years Eve 2009! Don’t you just love the non-edited quality! 😉
New Years Eve
Polaroid Instant Photography

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 5:3 3

    I do love them! All of them! Even the ones with me in the photo. All classics 🙂

  2. Annette Whelan permalink
    January 4, 2010 5:3 3

    Love them! My goodness, I didn’t even realize they made polaroid cameras anymore. Not something you see in this crazy digital world.

  3. Kelli Philpott permalink
    January 15, 2010 5:3 3

    I absolutely love polaroids!! I am so jealous, I want your camera!!

Leave a Reply

