Skip to content

The Other Liam

November 17, 2009

Three years ago my husband and I packed up our new family of four and moved clear across the country. I was moving home. You might already know that my husband is from Zimbabwe and my kids were both born in Calgary. Me? I was born in Newfoundland. Coming home was pretty exciting. What I wasn’t prepared for was that all my old friends had moved away so returning home meant living in the city where I knew nobody. That also meant three year olds, I didn’t know any three year olds. So being the responsible mother I knew one day I had to become I decided to put my baby in pre-school. He needed friends, he needed to socialize and grow and learn to love his new home too.

That’s where Liam met Liam. For two years they played together at school and grew some kind of pre-school bond that I did not know was possible. Liam and Liam were separated this past September as they started kindergarten in different schools. My Liam is not jaded, he states just about every other day that “Liam is still his best friend’.

And that’s how I met this family. Whenever I move to a new city I’m reminded how much heartbreak, unrest and loneliness can follow you. With a little hard work it doesn’t long to be reminded that the best part about moving is new friends; new people are waiting in each place to be a part of your new life.

This past weekend I spent a beautiful mild Saturday morning with Liam’s best friends family.

They love to take their kids to the Fort Amherst area.  We shot at 9:30am to catch a softer morning light. And I say it again, “I must have the best job!”

This is the other Liam.

And this is his ‘little’ brother! He stops for nobody or nothing and yet makes a great subject for my camera!


I love this next image. Come on mom and dad, you’re suppose to be looking at the camera!

How do I shoot into the sun successfully? A lot of you have been noticing that I shoot into the sun a lot.  Most of the these images were indeed taken that way.  The first thing you have to do is start shooting in manual.  Surprisingly a lot of point and shoots can shoot manual but it’s not always easy to access those settings.  In order to succeed at getting what you want from your camera YOU have to be in control. So, my first piece of advice is start shooting in manual mode. You’re camera manual is a great place to start if you have no idea what ‘manual’ even means.  When you’re comfortable with that I’ll tell you what to do next.

And so that mom and dad don’t get a bad rep I had to share this one where they are happily smiling for me and the kids are doing what kids do best!

…………
‘The Other Liam’ has made an appearance on my blog before. He was the kid crashing mid air with my Liam at his #5 birthday last spring. Check them out here.

…………

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Treena permalink
    November 17, 2009 5:3 3

    Love it Charla, love the detail of the rocks and walls. Thanks for the tips!

  2. November 17, 2009 5:3 3

    These are beautiful Charla. I love how it looks like they’re standing on the edge of the rocks. And the Dad photo is awesome. Mom’s and Dad’s don’t get photographed enough.

    BTW, I shoot manually. Now, tell me the rest of your secrets please. 🙂

Leave a Reply

