Skip to content

Seven Workshop NYC II

November 6, 2009

My recent 6 day trip to New York City wasn’t all fun and games. There was some business involved. The entire reason we (Lori and I) made the trek to New York was for the Mike Colon Seven Workshop. Ok, so maybe it was all fun and games. The workshop definitely exceeded my expectations for learning AND it was a lot of fun AND I met some great people! Just five minutes into the day I already had plans on how to improve my business. By the end of the day my hands were sore from writing and my brain overflowing with information. Besides some other great photographers who participated in the workshop we also had the pleasure of meeting photographer Steve Simon (a fellow Canadian) as he audited the workshop. His work is very inspiring and worth the time to check out.

The day ended at a great Italian Restaurant called Otto’s where a former workshopee served us amazing samples of Italian food ending in the best gelato I’ve ever had!

One thing I loved about being in NYC was taking my point and shoot and blending into the crowd. It’s so convenient to have it tucked away and capture the fun memories like this one of Lori, Mike Colon and I. I can’t say I’ve seen a point and shoot photo where I look good but it’s fun and I wanted to post it despite my rain soaked appearance. Lori and Mike look great though!

workshop-1-2
Here are a few workshopee’s and Mike in action. We started shooting on a rickety balcony off the bridal salon where the workshop took place. Here Mike is balancing on the even more rickety railing.  “Don’t look down!”
workshop-2
workshop-4
workshop-3

Our beautiful model showed off several designer dress’ in the wet streets of Manhattan. She not only braved the cold but also braved the gawking pedestrians.
workshop-5
workshop-7
workshop-8

Thanks Mike for sharing so openly and candidly about your experiences and your business! For a little more about Mike Colon check out his website www.mikecolon.com. Mike and his wife just recently added to their family of four another two babies (yes, twins)!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 5:3 3

    As always a great post! Ohhhh and we do look good in that photo! Though Mike is so tall he looks like a Dad protecting his two young daughters lol.

  2. erica permalink
    November 6, 2009 5:3 3

    Amazing, can’t wait to see what you’ve learned put into action!! Love the photos of the model crossing the street, and her profile photo, she is just stunning!!

  3. Shannon permalink
    November 7, 2009 5:3 3

    Post more Post MORE!!!

  4. November 10, 2009 5:3 3

    Ohhhhh! These are lovely. The workshop seemed to have taught you alot…..amd mr colon is HOTTT. lol

Leave a Reply

