Skip to content

Derrick + Elizabeth : To Italy and beyond

September 25, 2009

Italy is Elizabeth and Derrick’s next vacation destination.

They have been married for 16 years. Their road started when they were young and hanging out with a bunch of friends behind Derrick’s house. Elizabeth managed to do what young girls do best and got Derrick’s attention by pulling a thread off of his jeans, thereby pulling the entire pocket off of his pants! Some 13 years later Derrick found himself proposing in Paris. Um, yeah, every girls dream!

On that day their story was only just beginning. The day before their wedding Elizabeth lost her job. Did this put a damper on things? No way. Soon after they started their own business, The Spice barn.  Derrick, being the architect he is, designed the Spice Barn and built it in their own backyard. They lived their dream for 13 years and sold after Elizabeth started to have allergies to the spice dust. The old Spice Barn is now being converted into their home. Wow, I got a tour and it is beautiful, with no detail left untouched…even an outdoor shower!

Besides all of the exciting parts of their life what becomes the most evident when you are around them is their love.  One of the biggest reasons I wanted to do this session was Elizabeth’s words in her first email to me, “I would lose everything and live in a tent with him as long as we were together” and “He makes it easy“.  How could I pass up meeting a couple like this?

When are they heading to Italy? This past summer Elizabeth was diagnosed with cancer.  She is currently going through treatments and with a very positive outlook they are planning to travel Italy when she is better.  Not that I am by any means an expert but I think they’ll be heading to Italy sooner rather than later.  I strongly believe that being happy and willing to walk through the struggles that life offers is the very first step to recovery from just about anything.

Elizabeth and Derrick, it was a joy to spend the sunset on one of summers last hot days with you, Penny and your orange barn!  I think you’ve got it all (hair or no hair)!

elizder-1
elizder-3

elizder-5
This is Penny.
elizder-8
She’s a rescued dog.
elizder-2
elizder-6
elizder-7
elizder-10

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Beulah permalink
    September 25, 2009 5:3 3

    Charla
    Very touching love story.
    My favorite is the ‘2 of them’ sitting in the grass and him with his bike.

  2. Michele Babstock permalink
    September 25, 2009 5:3 3

    Very beautiful story Charla… the pictures are lovely!! Now that’s what I call “LOVE”!!

  3. Shannon permalink
    September 25, 2009 5:3 3

    love them all, but I think the first one is my fav…

  4. erica permalink
    September 25, 2009 5:3 3

    I adore this post, they truly define the meaning of love and the journey of marriage, they have something that you rearly see this day in age, I admire them both, be strong elizabeth, with the love between your husband and yourself, you both can move mountains. Charla this is definitly one of my favorite posts and the photos are stunning, I love the first one!!! Beautiful!

  5. kara permalink
    September 25, 2009 5:3 3

    Very touching and inspiring! Beautiful Family and Beautiful work!

  6. Donna Minnema permalink
    September 28, 2009 5:3 3

    I am fortunate enough to be related to Elizabeth and Derrick and they are truly an inspiration to everyone. We know that the two of them will be on their way to Italy sooner than they think. My favorite picture is the first one. They are all beautiful, but something in that first one says it all….Love ya both……

  7. Tanya Ryan permalink
    September 30, 2009 5:3 3

    All of the pictures are beautiful! I am lucky to have Derrick and Elizabeth as my neighbour. They truly have an amazing bond. They are a beautiful couple – inside and out!

  8. Debbie permalink
    February 4, 2010 5:3 3

    Beautiful!!!! I met Elizabeth and Derrick through my sister barbara. Two wonderful people… and the love comes through in thier eyes and the smile they share!!! The first picture is my favorite too.

Leave a Reply

