Skip to content

Ian + Brenda Promised Their Love

September 22, 2009

Rainbows often remind me of fairy tales, unicorns and dreamy little girls. Rainbows have become a symbol of fantasy, cutsie and to many (especially boys) ickky. But what happens when you see a real rainbow?  You know, the one in the sky that comes right after the rain! When I see a real rainbow I’m reminded of real beauty and I am reminded of Real Promises.  The first rainbow was a promise from God that He would never flood the earth again. I believe it was much more than that.  It shows God’s mightly power of what He can do, of how much He loves us and how much He promises to take care of us. I believe it was , in part, a promise and a vow to always love us, to take care of us.

On Saturday, Ian and Brenda had planned an outdoor ceremony.  All the weather tracking in the world didn’t stop the rain from pouring at 4:15 and hushing us all inside for a beautiful and very intimate ceremony.  After the vows were said and congratulations given the rain stopped. Heading outside into the fresh clean fall air was refreshing and in the sky was a huge, bright, real rainbow.  It was a powerful thing not made of fairy tales and white knights but of real promises on a day when real vows were given between a beautiful couple who had, only moments ago, promised to love each other through all the good and bad the world would offer them!

I can’t say it often enough, loud enough or in enough ways but thank you Ian and Brenda for inviting me to be part of your day.  For letting me get to know you and be a part of the intimate moments of your wedding day!

IanBrenda-18

Couple in a hammick

IanBrenda-17

Couple kissing under a rainbow

Since I am a bird lady myself I had to include this one of Brenda and her budgie!
IanBrenda-1
Excitement and tears were brewing.
IanBrenda-4
Ian puts on the final touches as he watches his guests arrive.
IanBrenda-7
More fixes before walking down the isle.
IanBrenda-10
A moment during the ceremony.
IanBrenda-9
IanBrenda-1-2
Stealing a moment not long after the vows were said. Of course I kind of set this up but once they were in there they relaxed and didn’t want to get up!

The handsome groom.
IanBrenda-22
The blushing bride.
IanBrenda-23
IanBrenda-19
I just love, love LOVE the love in this photo!
IanBrenda-21
Check out this rock…er, I mean ring!
IanBrenda-12
The entire wedding was held in a family home. It was the perfect place to celebrate a marriage from beginning to end…not to mention the most incredible food I have ever eaten at a wedding. The catering was by Red Oak Catering. Un.be.lieve.able.
IanBrenda-13
IanBrenda-15
IanBrenda-24
At the end of the night we headed out for a few moments alone in the gazebo…where they would have been married had it not rained.
IanBrenda-25
IanBrenda-27
IanBrenda-26
IanBrenda-28

For more of Ian and Brenda see their winter engagement shoot here!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Tammy permalink
    September 22, 2009 5:3 3

    Charla, these photos are beautiful. I love the first one. Amazing work Charla.

  2. LoriMoss permalink
    September 22, 2009 5:3 3

    I just loooooove that rainbow shot! Oh and the last shot where the light catches all around the gazebo, so nice.

  3. September 22, 2009 5:3 3

    wow- again beautiful!!!!- now I really can’t wait for mine lol!

  4. erica permalink
    September 22, 2009 5:3 3

    I love all of these photos, they are just stunning, theh middle cove pictures are amazing, and the one in the hammock, beautiful!!! Lovely job!!

  5. Beulah permalink
    September 22, 2009 5:3 3

    Charla…….what can I say.
    Those photos say it all, nothing can be added from beginning to end–all perfect.

  6. September 24, 2009 5:3 3

    Seriously???? Charla…You are one of the best photographers I have ever been privileged to observe….You make me want to be so much better…you make me want to learn, learn, learn….In your images, you show me (and others) just what IS possible…Cheers, once again, to you and your inspiring talent….

    Are you ever putting on a workshop???

  7. September 24, 2009 5:3 3

    Thanks Tacey (and everyone). There are workshops in the making. It will all be announced here on the blog when the time comes. Maybe late winter or spring! Keep an eye out…it’ll be fun!

  8. September 24, 2009 5:3 3

    Amazing! This is definitely my fave wedding you’ve shot! Oh and you have no idea how excited I am about the possiblities of more workshops! And did anyone else notice that it’s a double rainbow?! The bigger one is oh so faint but it’s there.

  9. kara permalink
    September 25, 2009 5:3 3

    Beautiful images – as always!! Love Love Love that Rainbow shot!!

  10. courtney gollop permalink
    October 28, 2009 5:3 3

    these photo’s are amazing. ♥♥

  11. Jana Melvin permalink
    November 2, 2009 5:3 3

    WOW Charla .. you always amaze me with your photos!!!

Trackbacks

  1. One-on-One Photo Workshop «

Leave a Reply

