Skip to content

Be Your Own Bride

September 4, 2009

kassi-2

If you saw me walking down the street I might NOT stand out of the crowd but I do like to think I live my own life based on what I love and what God wants for me. When doing new things I like to play by the rules at first then break all the rules and do it my way.

This is sometimes easier said than done. When I was somewhere around 16, loving ‘grunge’, and living in small town Newfoundland I was determined to be different. I remember special ordering Doc Martin’s, wearing fake chains between my nose and ears (yes I did do that once), and buying bright yellow pants that were a size 34 (not because I needed that size). Photos from those years are not overly flattering to my teenage figure (and won’t be found here on my blog) but that wasn’t my point.

At the time I wanted to make the statement that it was ok to be different, to try new things, to explore. I felt like if I swam with the crowd I would miss out on a lot of adventures, and adventures were few and far between in my hometown.

With my art…better known as my photography…I also like to try new things. I like to learn the rules and I like to think I rarely stick with them. For brides-to-be, learning the rules may seem like the only option. With so many to-do lists to complete it’s sometimes hard to be different; to do the opposite of what your mother wants; to be your own bride!

When I first meet my couples I often talk about what makes them tick as a couple and as individuals. This gives me lots of great ideas for making their wedding photography unique to them. This post today is a toast to all the unique brides out there…and that is truly every bride-to-be! It’s for all the ladies who know they are different from the crowd (in one way or another), who know they are just not another girl in a white dress, who know that the groom standing beside them loves HER and only her. Stir up your courage and bring your own personality into your wedding day.

Wear the dress that flatters YOUR body, the hair do that makes sense for your personality and speak the vows that are deep in YOUR heart. After all, you are marrying the groom that is meant for only YOU!

Be your own bride.

In the spirit of being your own bride I did this shoot with the ever beautiful Kassi just a few days ago while on ‘vacation’.

kassi
kassi-3
kassi-4
……………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Kassi is also an aspiring musician. At the ripe age of 17 she is overflowing with talent. I do believe you can find her on youtube and various other places singing her heart out and waiting to be discovered. We did these photos for use on her various profiles. Her ‘stage name’ is its kassiani.

She is truly as talented as she is beautiful.
kassi-8
kassi-5
kassi-6
kassi-7

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2009 5:3 3

    BYOB = Be your own bride.

    I like that definition better than the original. 🙂

    Lovely photos Charla. Kassi is stunning.

  2. September 4, 2009 5:3 3

    I like your title too Janice!

    Just wanted to add that the veil was actually my mom’s. I love it!

  3. crystal s permalink
    September 5, 2009 5:3 3

    WOW!
    I will keep an eye out for these on magazine covers around the city too 😉

  4. LoriMoss permalink
    September 5, 2009 5:3 3

    Holy smokes Charla! I didn’t recognize Kassi AT ALL. Am.az.ing.

  5. Trudy permalink
    September 5, 2009 5:3 3

    WOW!
    ……just beautiful Charla, you are talented and
    your model is beautiful! You are a gifted artist.
    These photos are stunning.

  6. Beulah permalink
    September 5, 2009 5:3 3

    Beautiful photos! I love them all.

  7. Angela Nolan permalink
    September 5, 2009 5:3 3

    Not stand out walking down the street?………..I have news for you girl…………you stand out – you’re beautiful. I think you’ll go far. Good Luck Kassie, in whatever you do and stay grounded – beauty is on the inside & out.

  8. Bev permalink
    September 5, 2009 5:3 3

    I just had to comment on these photos, your model is spectacular! very attractive!

    You photography skills are awesome, you certainly know how to make your photos stand out. One has to stop and take notice!!!

  9. Shannon permalink
    September 6, 2009 5:3 3

    Niiiiice… I love pic #3!

  10. andrea permalink
    September 8, 2009 5:3 3

    I love them all!

  11. July 23, 2011 5:3 3

    If you don’t mind me asking, is this location in St. John’s?

  12. March 14, 2012 5:3 3

    Sorry I’m only getting this now. The location is Glovertown, NL

Trackbacks

  1. The Graduate «

Leave a Reply

