Skip to content

Stephen + Tanya got Married in Newfoundland!

August 24, 2009

When everything was young and still innocent these two dated for the first time. They parted ways and spent their teen years finding their own adventures. It was some time later that they reunited and found that first love was real love. Six years after that they were married in their home town of Norman’s Cove, NL.

I began shooting weddings in Kelowna, BC where an average wedding day would hit 30 degrees no problem. I was use to sweating a lot and quickly becoming dehydrated. Being a photographer in Newfoundland is quite a different story, the breezing winds and cool drizzle often accompanies on wedding shoots and keeps me cool. For Tanya and Stephen the sun shone and we roasted. Normally after such a hot day of shooting I fall down exhausted but as I left Norman’s Cove to drive home I felt the opposite that day. I was full of energy and happiness that I can only attribute to spending a serene day with a couple that are so happily in love they make everyone else around them happy too!

Thanks guys for reminding me why I love my job!

I always find it so hard to narrow down these images to just a few in a blog post. Today I made it easy on myself and focused on the bride and groom only.

stephenTanya-2
stephenTanya-3979
Can’t you feel the speed of which they exited the church? They were so excited to be married and though we loved staring at them I think they were happy not to be the center of attention anymore.
stephenTanya-4365
I always like to state my claim on the favorite of the day and this would be it. All the girls were brave enough to dip their feet in the ‘cool’ NL ocean but I loved Tanya standing there on her own, brave and beautiful. She even dipped her train, accidentally of course, and it never phased her. What a bride!
stephenTanya-4
stephenTanya-3
stephenTanya-10
stephenTanya-9
stephenTanya-11
Tanya’s dress choice was absolutely stunning…as was Tanya!
stephenTanya-6
stephenTanya-8
stephenTanya-5
The decorating was done by Tanya’s mom, Janice, and another great lady, Liz, who actually attended a wedding workshop I (and Lori Moss) put off this past May. It was a great job and they come highly recommended by me. As they are new and yet to get a website please email me if you’re interested in contacting them.
stephenTanya-3913
stephenTanya-12
I know I said this post was all about Tanya and Stephen but I couldn’t resist to include the ringbearer. stephenTanya

If you haven’t seen it you have to check out their Sneak Peek and the Viper that visited.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Curtis permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:3 3

    Love these….what a great couple!

  2. Annette permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:3 3

    What a day, what a dress and what a gorgeous couple! Such amazing work and I really enjoy your ring shots. So interesting how you keep them fresh and cool! I’ll never know how you narrow down your blog choices…it must be extremely difficult!

  3. LoriMoss permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:3 3

    Call me crazy, but I love her crinoline enough to wear it as a dress 🙂
    I think the first image is my favorite…the light is so beautiful and flattering.

  4. Beulah permalink
    August 25, 2009 5:3 3

    I can’t decide which one I like the best, all of them are unique, so fresh and crisp.
    Love the rock, shows her dress wonderfully, Also her in the water–beautiful! The little guy is so cute. Stunning photos.

  5. erica permalink
    August 25, 2009 5:3 3

    I love the dress it’s amazing, great photos charla, I love them all!!!!

  6. August 27, 2009 5:3 3

    Great images, I love the one with her in the water and the picture where she’s stood right infront of him, Beautiful pictures Charla

  7. Linda (grooms mom) permalink
    August 27, 2009 5:3 3

    They are the best looking couple I have ever seen! Of course I’m not very objective.

  8. paula crann permalink
    August 27, 2009 5:3 3

    HI CHARLA,
    I AM STEPHEN’S AUNT AND I THINK YOU DID AN AMAZING JOB, I LOVE YOUR NATIRAL ABILITY TO CAPTURE SUCH BEAUTIFUL POSES. I WOULD LOVE TO GET IN TOUCH WITH YOU TO SEE IF YOU CAN TAKE SOME PICTURES OF MY SON AND I. LEASE CONTACT ME AT paulacrann@nf.sympatico.ca thank you paula

  9. Holly McConville permalink
    August 30, 2009 5:3 3

    These are the most amazing wedding pictures I’ve ever seen. Wish I could have been there but at least I got to see the beautiful pictures.

  10. September 1, 2009 5:3 3

    My dear Lord…YOU are amazing Charla. Watch out J*, MeRa Koh, and even Dennis Reggie…YOU are tops. Holy cow. As a newbie, I am in total awe…I live in Kelowna, but my husband is from St. John’s…The settings you shoot draw me to the Rock…But, shhh…I can’t say that too loud or I’ll be packin’ me bags…Cheers to you Charla!

Leave a Reply

