Skip to content

Close To My Heart

August 3, 2009

These two boys take up most of my heart (with a little spot left for their dad of course).

A while ago it occurred to me that although I have a million or so images of my family and I spend countless hours designing digital scrapbooks I have never really put the effort into a real, full on, professional photo shoot of my kids. So in the middle of wedding season I came up with the idea to do one.  Little did I realize it would require A LOT more effort than shooting a regular client.

Time was spent finding the right outfits, just the right locations, a day when daddy could help me, a day when the sun was shining and a day when I was not exhausted from shooting weddings!  It all came together today and in the first five minutes I had already thrown my camera back in the car and gave up.  Luckily my ever calm husband pulled us all..and by all I mean me and my oldest son…together and we tried again.  Success was had and somewhat to my surprise a good time as well!

These first three will soon be large canvas’ adorning the walls of our home.

JessLiamBlog-10

JessLiamBlog-11

JessLiamBlog-1

Normally for a client I will take lots of candid photos in between the ‘formal’ set ups. I didn’t feel the need to do that today since I have many candid photos of my kids and it really would just mean more files to sort through. However when they started swinging each other I couldn’t help myself. I just love the joy they find in each other.

JessLiamBlog-8

JessLiamBlog-3

JessLiamBlog-4

JessLiamBlog-7

JessLiamBlog-6

FYI: I have a busy wedding week coming up which makes me pretty sure I won’t be back on my blog till sometime next week! For now enjoy my little sweethearts and I’ll see you back here in 7 or more days!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    Love, Love, LOVE these 🙂 they make me so happy. The canvas prints are going to be beautiful. You guys made some good looking kids!

  2. Annette Whelan permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    Oh Charla, your boys are just so darn adorable. I love the hip hats and cool poses. I love your wedding work but you just can’t beat these shot of your little handsome men. Just wonderful!

  3. erica permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    I love these phots so much!!! Liam is so mysterious & Jesse is a character, you never know what goes through their little minds. In that way they are alike and in others not so alike, their actions and personalities are totally different. Both equally Beautiful in everything little thing they do, I adore these photos!!!

    P.S. I saw you all walking up duckworth today around 5:35 pm, and I remembered the grafetti wall I wanted to tell you about, I saw just off Queen’s Rd., it might be Carter’s Hill Pl. or Balsam St., but right at the end of the road is a great grafetti wall, you’ll love it!!!!

  4. candace permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    Fantastic!!!!!! Love the euro-gangsta style. The boys look awesome, so darn adorable. Miss you guys!!!!!

  5. Beulah permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    I cannot image how you would decide which ones to put on canvas!
    ALL of them are my favs. Just adorable.

  6. Beulah permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    Suppose to be ‘imagine’ not ‘image’

  7. Tasha permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    This post made me laugh! I can completely relate to what you said!!! Fabulous images as always, Charla!

  8. LoriMoss permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    Oh man these are too cute! What an awesome idea to treat their shoot like any other client shoot…they are so grown up. Love them all! But especially the first one and the one with the hand print!

  9. andrea permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    I want copies!!!!!! they are soooo cute!

  10. andrea permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    I like the last one a lot because that’s Liams really happy smile. When I think about him that’s how he looks

  11. Pam permalink
    August 3, 2009 5:3 3

    Charla, they are very sweet pictures and I love the canvas idea. You should try to do a “real” shoot once a year. I wish you could some along with us on our vacation, just follow us with your camera. Well, I can dream.

  12. August 4, 2009 5:3 3

    Absolutely love these images! Fabulous work, Charla!!

  13. Shannon permalink
    August 5, 2009 5:3 3

    Oh wow I love that second one!
    Where do you order your canvas prints?

  14. Charro Benteau permalink
    August 9, 2009 5:3 3

    These are fantastic, what beautiful little boys! Great work!

Leave a Reply

