Skip to content

I Loved Her First

June 28, 2009

It’s not a lie when I say just about every wedding I go to manages to bring a tear to my eye at some point in the day. Even this morning as I told Ryan about the father/daughter dance last night I welled up. And I’m not a sap, it take a lot to make me cry. Yesterday’s wedding of Denise and Trevor was nothing short of fantastic. They put off a great celebration and made me feel like a long lost friend!

Here’s a sneak peek of their day as Denise dances with her dad.

trevorDenise-1-2

I LOVED HER FIRST
Artist: Heartland
Look at the two of you dancing that way
Lost in the moment and each others face
So much in love your alone in this place
Like there’s nobody else in the world
I was enough for her not long ago
I was her number one
She told me so
And she still means the world to me
Just so you know
So be careful when you hold my girl
Time changes everything
Life must go on
And I’m not gonna stand in your way

But I loved her first and I held her first
And a place in my heart will always be hers
From the first breath she breathed
When she first smiled at me
I knew the love of a father runs deep
And I prayed that she’d find you someday
But it still hard to give her away
I loved her first

How could that beautiful women with you
Be the same freckle face kid that I knew
The one that I read all those fairy tales to
And tucked into bed all those nights
And I knew the first time I saw you with her
It was only a matter of time

But I loved her first and I held her first
And a place in my heart will always be hers
From the first breath she breathed
When she first smiled at me
I knew the love of a father runs deep
And I prayed that she’d find you someday
But its still hard to give her away
I loved her first

From the first breath she breathed
When she first smiled at me
I knew the love of a father runs deep
Someday you might know what I’m going through
When a miracle smiles up at you
I loved her first

And not to be outdone is the mother of the groom. PASSION is the word that flashed in my head when I saw this photo. This is the moment when Trevor greeted his bride-to-be at the front of the church. His mom grabbed him in the last moment he would be just hers!

trevorDenise-1-3

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Beulah permalink
    June 28, 2009 5:3 3

    Very touching, I don’t even have a son and I can feel this Mom’s passion.
    Beautiful song………..
    Looking forward to seeing some more soon.

  2. LoriMoss permalink
    June 28, 2009 5:3 3

    I LOVE that second shot! Passion is the perfect word….just fantastic.

  3. Sheila permalink
    June 28, 2009 5:3 3

    Beautiful Charla….

  4. Stephanie Samuelson-Abbott permalink
    June 28, 2009 5:3 3

    I am so excited to see the rest of these pictures!! Denise you looked amazing!!
    Charla I love your photos!!! Can’t wait to see the remainder!!!

  5. June 29, 2009 5:3 3

    Charla…What a beautiful, touching post. Jessica told me about you, and she’s right….You are fantastic.

  6. Judi permalink
    June 30, 2009 5:3 3

    Charla, as Mother of the Groom, I loved meeting you Saturday. You made the picture taking process so easy with your warm natural way. Can’t wait to see their pictures…those you diplayed at the reception and those shots we saw you take leave us longing to see more.

  7. erica permalink
    July 1, 2009 5:3 3

    I have to agree with everyone and say you truly know how to capture a moment, looking at these pictures make me fill up because you can relate to the emotions that define these photos, I love your work!!! …you know that, lol.

Leave a Reply

