Skip to content

Hugs and Kisses

June 12, 2009

What do you think about when you think of Australia?  Kangaroos? Koala’s? After being there all I think about is the heat!  Seriously, can you believe this ‘summer’ weather?  When we arrived home from Australia  it was beautiful here. The sun shone for weeks, the grass turned green and BBQ aroma’s could be smelled in every neighborhood.  What happened? I haven’t smelled a BBQ is weeks, of course that could also be because I haven’t opened the windows due to the 5 degree temps.

Heat aside, the Koala’s and Kangaroos were amongst the best experiences we had in Australia land.  As most experiences are with wild animals you expect to view them through wire fences while reading large signs that say ‘do not feed’ and ‘do not touch’.  Everywhere we went in WA (Western Australia) we were given food especially to feed the animals.  And we could easily touch and cuddle all the kangaroos we wanted.  The koala’s were a little more fickle….by fickle I mean a quick $20 bill got a us a cuddle whereas the Kangaroo cuddles/slime-ings were free.

aussie-8

aussie-18

The Koala’s are so sweet and cuddly that I asked about them as pets? Apparently they are too high maintenance. Though they are only awake for about 4 hours a day they will not eat leaves if they don’t like the scent. They also will only graze a tree before moving on to an untouched one. When kept in a park the leaves have to be replaced everyday…so we were told! But they are so sweet and their ears are so fuzzy!

aussie-47

These guys completely surrounded me and one wanted to eat my camera. I think it was the hot pink jacket! Or maybe it was just me!
aussie-4

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Erica permalink
    June 12, 2009 5:3 3

    Too cute, I wish I had koala bear! You certainly enjoyed your time down under! I’d love to visit there someday. And I don’t know whats up with this weather, it’s freezing! Hopefully it will pick up soon, how’s wedding season?

  2. Beulah permalink
    June 12, 2009 5:3 3

    So cute and cuddly. The picture with you is really nice, something about your eyes remind me of Wendy M.

Leave a Reply

