Skip to content

The Big 5

May 31, 2009

I was just going about my business, planning a birthday party, making a cake, worrying about rain. When all was said and done I heard myself say, “He’s 5 now.” That’s when it struck me. I have a five year old, a real boy. A baby no more. I wanted to write a profound post about all of the days emotions but instead all I can think about is the money I spent on a bouncy castle turned swimming pool. UPDATE: The bouncy castle people called first thing this morning and have agreed to reimburse me for the majority of the cost. I’m so happy and might just rent one again now!

I’m forcing myself not to dwell on it. I want to continue to celebrate the joy that Liam has brought to our life in the last 5 years. I want to realize the person he is becoming and making me in the process. There is no joy like watching a child grow.

I’m keeping this post short since my parents took the kids for two days and I don’t want to spend our alone time on the computer.

Happy Birthday Squi!

Birthday5-4

Birthday5-5

Birthday5-7

Birthday5-8

Birthday5-10

Birthday5-11gre

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelly Gushue permalink
    May 31, 2009 5:3 3

    OMGosh! i love that cake..great job!

  2. Erica permalink
    June 1, 2009 5:3 3

    Happy 5th Birthday Liam!!! It looks like he had a great party, and the cake looked amazing, loved it!!! I just love the third picture, he’s so handsome

  3. Beulah permalink
    June 1, 2009 5:3 3

    Beautiful Boy!
    I can’t believe he has grown so fast!

  4. LoriMoss permalink
    June 2, 2009 5:3 3

    That cake tasted even better than it looked! mmmm

    Liam is such a big boy now!

  5. Shannon permalink
    June 3, 2009 5:3 3

    I love the cake! I may just have to attempt a version of that for Jake bday in a few months. He’s gonna be 7! :S

Leave a Reply

