Skip to content

Amazed By Family

May 30, 2009

Family is an amazing thing. Though there was a time in my life when I was ready to seek my independence I never let me family out of my rear view mirror. As I made my way in the world I wished time and again that I had someone from my family to share experiences with. I guess that’s why I stayed close to my sister while in University and when my younger cousin Lori moved closer we became quick friends.

Today I’m in awe of the fact that I have my own little family that never leave my side. I know one day my face will be streaked with tears as my sons leave home but for now they are here and where ever I go they will go. Planet Earth will never be big enough to break us apart.

These are the thoughts I had as I photographed the beautiful Zdroykowski family from Virginia, USA. Betsy, Shawn and their three beautiful kids moved all the way to the island of Newfoundland in late summer ’08. They’re just getting to know the culture, the people and how to get around town. But here they are, all five of them, together in a strange land. As I watched them play on Middle Cove Beach I was reminded again of the incredible bond that comes with ‘family’ and goes where ever the family may go.

Thank you Betsy and family for letting me be a part of your life in Newfoundland. It was a pleasure to hang out with you all as the sun set on Middle Cove Beach.

I’m going to start with one of my favorites…suffice to say these are all faves of mine.
Betsy-4

What’s better than going to a beach? Going to a beach with helium balloons!
Betsy-2

Betsy-1

I think this little sweetie won they ‘who gets the most photos taken’ award. I just can’t resist girls in front of my camera, especially a beautiful serious one.
Betsy-9

Betsy-8

This was such a sweet moment. When the two oldest noticed that Brandon was getting alone time with mom they both ran over to give their share of hugs and kisses too.
Betsy-6

Betsy-7

Betsy-11

Betsy-10

8 Comments leave one →
  1. LoriMoss permalink
    May 30, 2009 5:3 3

    The balloons were such a great idea…and that light? Mahvelous!

  2. Annette Whelan permalink
    May 30, 2009 5:3 3

    I was just going to say the exact same thing as I went past the yellow balloon dad and the littlest one had….you beat me to it Lori!! Great post Charla! Really do love the wonderful unexpectedness of seeing balloons on the beach.

  3. Betsy permalink
    May 30, 2009 5:3 3

    We had such a good time at the photo shoot, Charla! And I LOVE all the beautiful photos of my family. Thank you so much!

  4. Pam permalink
    May 30, 2009 5:3 3

    Charla, you always amaze me with your photos, completely beautiful every time.
    Betsy, I can’t wait to see the rest!!
    I can hardly wait for our outdoor photos with Charla!

    Pam

  5. Katie Conover permalink
    May 30, 2009 5:3 3

    Oh my goodness!! I love these photos! And the fact that they are of my sister, brother-in-law, and niece & nephews doesn’t hurt either!!! Brandon, Kyle & Natalie actually sat still long enough?!?!

    Really great job!!! : )

  6. Allison Conover permalink
    June 1, 2009 5:3 3

    I love all of these!!!
    The Zdroykowski family is very photogenic!
    These should be in a family magazine.

  7. Edna Halter permalink
    June 6, 2009 5:3 3

    They are all “keepers”…. just beautiful… of course as their Great-Grandmom… I can boast .. the whole famil is precious in my sight.

    Wonderful photography! of course the subjects are very precious to me!
    The children are growing up much to fast!!

    You are a gifted photographer!

  8. Carmen zdroykowski permalink
    April 25, 2010 5:3 3

    Hi great photos!
    Just randomly looking up myself on google and found another zdroykowski.
    I wonder if we are related?
    There’s me my brothers Alexander, Anthony and andre on facebook.
    I do know I have family in the states.
    Cheers
    Carmen zdroykowski

Leave a Reply

