Skip to content

I’se the Photographer

May 22, 2009

The land of the living has welcomed me back. For just over a week I’ve been coughing, sneezing and croaking (due to laryngitis). I’m not complaining since I’ve barely been sick all winter and now my brides can breathe a sigh of relief as this hopefully means it’s out of my system for wedding season! After rescheduling some shoots last weeks I don’t have much new to blog about. As I keep avoiding sorting my Australia photos I remembered a little bit of excitement I had recently.

Sometime in early ’09 I was contacted by the Oil & Gas Inquirer about photos of Newfoundland Fisherman. I had a photo I thought they might like and they gave it a two page spread in their March issue.

mag-1

At first they promised me the cover but this guy made the cut instead!
mag-2

Here’s my two page spread! Not bad for a photo taken in 2003 with my very first Pro-Digital 6.3megapixel Canon! For all our workshop attendees…it’s not the Camera that takes great images…it’s you!
mag-3

My name was in such small print that I had to whip out my new macro lens in order to see it!
mag-4

And let’s not forget credit to the handsome models…whose names were much bolder than mine.
mag-6

Lastly a close up of Jimmy. When I focused in I loved how you can see the grain and quality of the magazine paper. After spending tons of money on camera’s and lenses that shoot clear images It’s this kind of texture that we degrade images to with Photoshop.
mag-5

If you’d like to read the article check here.

Now, if only I could get a bridal magazine layout…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. melking23 permalink
    May 22, 2009 5:3 3

    That is so awesome Charla! Congrats!

  2. Shannon permalink
    May 22, 2009 5:3 3

    Now that’s cool! WTG!

  3. Angela permalink
    May 22, 2009 5:3 3

    Very nice!!!!

  4. Beulah permalink
    May 22, 2009 5:3 3

    Congratulations Charla,
    This is second magazine for you, before you know it……it will be more than you can count!!

  5. May 22, 2009 5:3 3

    Great picture Charla 🙂

  6. Tasha permalink
    May 22, 2009 5:3 3

    Congratulations, Charla!

  7. Beulah permalink
    May 23, 2009 5:3 3

    Forgot to mention, I love the title for this blog!

  8. LoriMoss permalink
    May 24, 2009 5:3 3

    That is so cool! And your photo looks fantastic…at least they did a nice layout! I also like that they put in Jim and Ron’s names, you don’t see credit given to the ‘models’ very often 🙂

Leave a Reply

