Skip to content

Reconnecting

May 2, 2009

We didn’t go to Australia to be a tourist or a traveler.  Our purpose to go was to be with Ryan’s family.  Being from Zimbabwe most of them have been forced to relocate around the world.  Ryan has friends and family on just about every continent whereas my family is mostly within walking distance.

Our kids have been fortunate in the last two years to get to know my family as we live in Newfoundland.  For Ryan it has been an opportunity to understand me a little more by experiencing the Newfoundland culture.  Through these past years something has been missing in our lives – Ryan’s entire family.  For a full month we spent time, not with Australians, but Zimbabweans. Many of Ryan’s family met me and our kids for the first time during our recent Australia/New Zealand trip.

To start our Australia posts I decided to show a few of my favorite family images.

Here is Ryan with his Aunt, Uncle and cousin walking at sunset on a black beach in New Zealand.

fam-11

Jesse showing no fear as he jumps into Uncle Pete’s pool and his Nana’s arms
fam-2

As I like to call her, this is gymnast Georgia doing what she does best.
fam-6

I am a professional photographer and I love using my big expensive equipment.

I also hate posing group shots. Sometimes it just has to be done.

Through the fog of jet leg, short visits and easier access I documented the moments of being together with my Canon point and shoot. Though these images may not win any major awards they are still precious to us as reminders of rare family togethers. My point in showing these images is to show you that sometimes documenting the people you love can be more important than finding your creativity. Don’t be scared to sometimes just ‘point’ and ‘shoot’ (disclaimer: point and shoot for personal purposes only).

fam-10

ps. Above is the only photo of the black dress I mentioned in a pre-aussie post.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2009 5:3 3

    I’m starting to understand the merit of a simple, traditional, stand-and-smile portrait! I’m sure Ryan’s family will treasure them always. Looking forward to Post 2 Charla!

  2. Shannon permalink
    May 3, 2009 5:3 3

    I miss home….. 😦

  3. Shannon permalink
    May 3, 2009 5:3 3

    oh yes, and I love all the pics….the one of Jesse jumping into Nana’s arms is my favorite, but also makes me want to cry.

Leave a Reply

