Skip to content

Life Goes By

March 28, 2009

Homesickness is something I became quite use to when I was a University Student.  My family lived on the opposite side of the country from me in  a very small town where everybody knows everybody and when you grew up you got married and raised your family in a house you built in your parents backyard.  That’s how it happened for many generations.  And that was my worst nightmare.  Even during my bouts of university homesickness I never dared to move home (well maybe once).

Somehow I managed to make some lifelong friends out of those university days. After graduation I moved to Oakville, Ontario where I again found myself friendless and alone in the the large world of Sheridan Collage.  As it goes, by the end of my time there I had to  say good bye to more great people.  In my short lifetime this was the third time I left a comfortable life surrounded by people I loved and who loved me.   I began to think that experiencing new places wasn’t worth the heartbreak of constantly abandoning great people.  A permanent move to my mom’s  backyard was seeming like a good idea.

I didn’t realize that some of my best friends were still to come.

Kelowna, BC was not just my next stop but was the place where I became a ‘real’ adult.  The following years were all about figuring out where we belonged in the adult world.  Great times were had by all but eventually we all got married and especially I moved on to new places.

This week I came back.  I’m my own traveling band these days with a husband and two kids in tow.  They are my support system that is always constant.   It’s so great to catch up right where we left off, to meet all the new little ones that are running around and to simply be me with my girlfriends again.  Lyndsay was the one that got me in lots of trouble…fun trouble.  For years we ran around grabbing life by the tail, dreaming of our loves and vowing to never give in to whatever ‘life’ may be.  Today we find ourselves going to bed early and teaching our kids their abc’s.  These photos hold our future.  Meet Maya (I hope I spelled that right) and Evan; kids of one of the greatest girls I’ll ever know.

lyndsay

lyndsay-2

lyndsay-6

lyndsay-5

lyndsay-3

3 Comments leave one →
  1. LoriMoss permalink
    March 28, 2009 5:3 3

    The top two images are my favorites, I just love those big blue eyes and the beautiful coloring.

  2. Beulah permalink
    March 29, 2009 5:3 3

    The photos are beautiful, the little kiddies are so-o-o-o cute…..just beautiful. Those big blue eyes.
    The Mamma is not bad..she looks good!
    But we are missing U, U will not be home when we get there.
    Love U, take care.
    U’r mamma and pappy

  3. Shannon permalink
    March 29, 2009 5:3 3

    oooooohhhhh! I love love love the first, but they’re wonderful!

Leave a Reply

