Skip to content

The Good and Bad

March 15, 2009

How better to start a new week than to look back at the good and the bad of last week! Reflecting on what has already passed helps me get excited for what’s ahead and helps me make today even better than yesterday! It usually also makes me realize that life is not that bad.

The good:
~ Passports and Visas: On our recent trip to Florida I lost my son’s passport at the St. John’s airport. It seemed we had to jump through hoops to get millions of new forms signed, new photos taken and even more signatures to pick it up. In the midst of it there was a clerical error and we almost had to get a new passport for Ryan as well! Liam’s new passport is now safe in our hands and ready for Australia.
~ The Epson Stylus that sits next to me right now. My new baby’s size alone makes her stand out like a sore thumb in my mac-themed work environment. The model that once sat there was delicate, slender and often admired for her beauty rather than her talents. The new beast has stolen my heart because of her brawn and I get extremely excited every time I need her.
~ An old photo: Because of my new beasts talent of scanning negatives I have been able to resurrect an old photo of my dad. As one of the first photos I took with a manual camera I had no idea how to expose properly. Favored in my collection for the memory of dad’s pose it can now be shared with the world. How you might ask? Due to my inexperience I placed my dad in a dark window and now with Photoshop I am able to bring him into the light!

dad-seacaptain1

The bad:
~ The Cougar Helicopter Crash: 18 involved, 17 lost. The day after the crash I was running errands in freezing temps. I ran inside and hugged my son to help warm me up. I instantly thought of how often I take for granted the safety and warmth of my own family. There really are no words I can say to help the grieving families. I can only offer my sympathies, my thoughts and prayers and today hug my own family tight.
~ It’s hard to see anything else as bad this past week.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Beulah permalink
    March 15, 2009 5:3 3

    Reflection is good. . . . every Newfoundlander is hurting because of the crash.

  2. Beulah permalink
    March 15, 2009 5:3 3

    Dad says to show your skills, you should get rid of the glasses!!!

  3. March 15, 2009 5:3 3

    I think the glasses make the picture. It was a long time ago when dad was captain of this ship!! So much has changed since then, I like that it’s dated. I should get a new one with him and his ‘fleet’ 😉

Leave a Reply

