Skip to content

DAD | HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

March 6, 2009
tags: ,

Today is my dad’s birthday.  Photographs are a powerful tool in remembering life’s moments.  Today I want to share a few of my most cherished memories of my dad that even in the absence of photographs have never lost their power.

VIRTUE
Patience seemed to always be my dads virtue.  When it came time for my first day behind the wheel I guess everyone thought my dad would be the best one for the passengers seat.  Besides having my foot on the gas and hands on the wheel the hardest part about driving that day was to stay on the right side of the road. My dad must have thought I was doing a spectacular job and as he directed my white knuckles onto the highway he decided to take an afternoon nap.   45 minutes later we found ourselves safely outside my grandmother’s hospital room.  That day I learned that I could do anything.

STRENGTH
I pulled my veil over my face, took my father\’s arm and waited for the music queue.  Planning a wedding in six weeks didn’t leave me one moment to think about the fact that I was really getting married.  I may not have noticed but when my dad was the only one left standing beside me he must have felt my tension.  He squeezed my hand and whispered a few words of comfort which to me said, “I love you.  I am holding you tight.  I will be right beside you the entire way and though I’m going to let you go at the end I will always be here”.   That day he imparted a piece of himself to me that I took and hope to pass on to my children.

HUMILITY
My sister was getting married.   It would be a big Greek wedding on the opposite side of the country.  Everything from the groom to the food served at midnight was foreign to our small town experiences.  I was only 15 but I noticed when my parents felt uncomfortable at the engagement party because they didn’t know what food to eat or that they should have brought gifts for their new son-in-law.  I knew it wasn’t right when the priest physically pushed my dad during the rehearsal and that I, the maid of honor, wasn’t told I couldn’t sign the register.  And I definitely noticed when the priest stood up and gave a blessing on the food even though my father had been announced to do so.  I also took note when my father waited for him to finish, walked graciously to the mic so everyone could hear and Gave Thanks to his Father in heaven who provided the meal and the incredible new family that we were now a part of.  That day I learned that humility was a characteristic I wanted to own

I love him just because he’s my dad.  My dad has worked hard to give me the bed I slept in for the first quarter of my life, the food I ate and most importantly the car I drove…er I mean all the love and support to be where and who I am today.  Happy Birthday dad!!  I look forward to all the moments yet to come.

wedding_9040

PS. Happy Anniversary Ryan!
………………………………………………………………………………………

Photo credit goes to Lori Moss
Thanks to Jasmine Star and her photo blog for inspiring me to honor my dad in this way
.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Beulah permalink
    March 6, 2009 5:3 3

    So nice Charla, brought a tear to my eye.
    Happy Anniversary to you and Ryan. Have a great day.

  2. Erica permalink
    March 6, 2009 5:3 3

    love love love this, it’s beautiful, I love a tribute!!!! Fathers are the one thing that can bring hold you up when your down, and you know that they will always be there for you….

  3. LoriMoss permalink
    March 6, 2009 5:3 3

    I must say, you do have a wonderful dad!

  4. Beulah permalink
    March 6, 2009 5:3 3

    Love the new blog! Looks great.

  5. Cindy permalink
    March 7, 2009 5:3 3

    Beautiful! You made me cry….not just your story but also reflecting on my own!!!!

Leave a Reply

