Skip to content

Giving is Awesome!

January 11, 2009

You know someone.

You know someone who’s experienced a tragedy, is struggling to stay afloat, is raising kids while holding down more than one job, or is volunteering selflessly despite extenuating personal circumstances. You know someone who can’t afford custom Wedding Photography, but who would cherish it forever.

You know someone! I guarantee it.

I want to know who they are, and I want to give them the chance to experience complimentary custom Wedding Photography — $4300 worth, to be exact.  The winner will receive a full wedding package which includes coverage of their entire wedding day from preparations to celebrations, an online gallery & slideshow, DVD of images and a canvas print for their wall.

Oh, and the best part? The person who nominates the winner receives a $300 photography session credit. What better reason to show some love could there possibly be, people?

THE RULES:
* You cannot nominate yourself, and the person nominated must sincerely be incapable of purchasing my wedding photography services. (Being unable to make mortgage payments for a million-dollar-vacation-home in Paris does not qualify as sincere financial need)

* The nominee must reside in Newfoundland. Tell me who you know, what they’re experiencing, and why they deserve my artwork. (If the wedding is outside of St. John’s or Newfoundland it can still qualify but all travel and accommodation expenses must be covered)

* You must e-mail me the full story : idea(at)charla.ca. Please include a photo of the nominee and a way to contact both your nominee and yourself as well.

14 February, 2009 is the deadline. I will post the top three stories right here on my blog and the winner will be announced on March 1st, 2009 — get nominating! I can’t wait to read all of your entries!

Open your heart to someone this New Year — and thanks for giving me the opportunity to open mine.

giving01

Love and Happy New Year,signature

*This great idea was started by Kristen Kalp of www.essentialimagery.com. Right now there are over 518 photographers registered and GIVING all over the world!

**Certain conditions apply (but be assured the person who nominates the winner and the winner will not be subject to tax or a fee of any kind)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. LoriMoss permalink
    January 11, 2009 5:3 3

    Amazing Charla! I was just reading about this yesterday. Glad you go on board 🙂 Very worthy cause.

  2. B'lah permalink
    January 11, 2009 5:3 3

    Awesome!

  3. candace permalink
    January 11, 2009 5:3 3

    what a fantastic idea!!!

  4. Blair permalink
    January 11, 2009 5:3 3

    Must reside in NFLD. baahhh!

  5. January 11, 2009 5:3 3

    Reside in NL or someone really nice can pay my way to them!

  6. Lyle permalink
    January 11, 2009 5:3 3

    Charla
    I’m reading this in Winnipeg. Someone in the photo club to which I belong posted a link to your page for our attention.
    What a great idea.
    I personally volunteer at an organization of several group homes for adults with mental health issues.
    I take portraits of people who would otherwise go without much documentation of their lives at all. Something many of us take for granted.
    I charge for nothing but the prints. People are thrilled and I get to practice.
    I never thought of it as love but I think we all have something to share, be it our time, photos, clothing, food, whatever.
    Let’s hope others take up the call.

  7. January 12, 2009 5:3 3

    Thanks for your comments Lyle!! What you’re doing is great, documenting our lives in something even I as a photographer take for granted some days. I’m hoping this can be the beginning of the call for me!!

Leave a Reply

