Skip to content

Christmas without Chocolate

December 9, 2008

When I was 8 years old I went into Anaphylactic Shock after eating chocolate.  For six years I never tasted the delicious flavors of cocoa.  Sometime in my mid teens my mom took me to an Allergist who proceeded to tell me I was no longer allergic to chocolate.   I wasn’t thrilled nor upset by the outcome, I didn’t really care since I didn’t even remember what it was like to eat chocolate.  The first piece of chocolate I tasted didn’t strike me as anything special.  But I did continue to taste different varieties and to this day I have continued what really should have been a forbidden love affair with chocolate.

About three years ago I visited another Allergist. She proceeded to tell me my deathly allergy was back and that I should, under no circumstance, consume chocolate again.  I’m known to be stubborn and I thought to myself, “I’ve been eating it all these years I’m not stopping now.”

This past Sunday night my husband and I decided to have a date night.  We planned to grab a bite to eat and watch the movie ‘Australia’.  I was pretty excited to have a night out since we’ve both been so busy with work, kids and Christmas prep.  However, as it came close to movie time we realized we didn’t really have enough time to grab a bite.  My dinner ended up being popcorn and a Dove chocolate bar while my husband had a hotdog and fries.  By the time we went to bed that night I was extrememly itchy and proceeded to scratch my skin raw through the night.  When I tried to open my eyes in the morning I couldn’t, they were almost swollen shut.  My body was covered in giant hives that moved.  Oh it wasn’t a pretty site.  For two days these lovely hives have moved all over my body.   It hasn’t been all bad, for a good part of today I had natural lip injections but currently my feet are so swollen I can barely walk.

This will be my first of many Christmases to come where I will be chocolate free. My long lost allergy has returned and I have ended my love affair with chocolate.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. B'lah permalink
    December 9, 2008 5:3 3

    Thank God this affair is finally over, and I can stop worrying that you will die in you sleep because of chocolate.
    I don’t mean to say ‘I told you so’ …..BUT, I always knew it would come back and bite you. There’s lots of other good treats, so don’t fret.

  2. December 10, 2008 5:3 3

    I knew it would too. I’m kind of relieved as well. Now it’s on to better things. At least I won’t have to fight the urge to eat more and more!!

  3. LoriMoss permalink
    December 10, 2008 5:3 3

    Charla listen to your mother!

  4. December 10, 2008 5:3 3

    I will if you will Lori 😉

  5. Andrea permalink
    December 10, 2008 5:3 3

    Personally I like all the vanilla, white chocolate and caramel things best anyway. Too bad you didn’t have my tastes for sweets. You wouldn’t miss it as much!
    but, it’s just a food, you’ll get over it and forget it like you did the first time.

Trackbacks

  1. Out of Town «

Leave a Reply

