Skip to content

Jake and Family | Christmastime

November 30, 2008

I love my job. Being able to do what I love every day is a pure blessing. Sometimes a photo session can be almost therapeutic. Being creative is a way for me to be simply me and that in itself is great for the soul. Sometimes a photo session can be a workout. A photo studio does not make for a safe place for a curious child of 15 months. Little Jake’s parents and I broke a sweat in the first 10 minutes of shooting!! For all the chaos that seemed to be around us the session was a lot of fun and it really was a delight to spend the morning with this family. Besides the worry of a light falling on Jake’s little head I wish more sessions could be this kind of ‘therapeutic’!

Meet the kids!
tautfest-2

Jake’s family are not from Newfoundland but he has spent most of his life here.  Maybe it has something to do with the fact that he’s from Houston (just kidding) but Jake thought that my over-sized Christmas tree ornament was much better used as a bouncy ball.
tautfest-3

Born to be in front of a camera this beauty is the oldest of the family!
tautfest-6

This sweet little thing was so quiet I barely knew she was there.
tautfest-5

tautfest-1

I had to see it with my own eyes, Jake is just a year and a half and he can jump with two feet off the ground. Just look at the pure delight in his face.
tautfest-4

Busyness and presence of studio equipment would normally be cause for deletion but this photo is among my favorites.  Three kids in the studio make for a lot of action and I love that this photo captures the real experience.
tautfest-7

Nearing the end of our session Mom set the kids up with a snack and we were able to share a few moments with the people that make this family possible.

tautfest-8

This incredible woman was non-stop for our entire session but while I was ready for a shower at the end of the morning she looked as beautiful and fresh as when she arrived.  I wanted to take at least one photo space for her alone because being a mom of three is hard work.  Family photo sessions have a high possibility of bringing out the worst in parents but this mom showed nothing but grace and love for her family.

tautfest-9

For all the grandmother’s out there, the last photo is for you! And for you photographers out there I caught this somewhere around the 3rd frame of the day!
tautfest-10

4 Comments leave one →
  1. LoriMoss permalink
    November 30, 2008 5:3 3

    Beautiful work! The props all look great (including the light stands :).

  2. Pam permalink
    November 30, 2008 5:3 3

    Charla, They are so fun and beautiful! Thank you for making us all comfortable and relaxed…even though it was soo crazy!! Haha
    Chuck and I did not intend on a picture of the two of us, what a wonderful surprise. We haven’t had a picture together since our wedding 11 years ago. Thank you for all of the amazing pictures!! We are so excited to share our pictures with family!! You are so talented Charla!

  3. B'lah permalink
    November 30, 2008 5:3 3

    Charla, Beautiful as usual.
    Beautiful family, their colors are all matching so nice.
    Great photos.

  4. Shannon permalink
    December 5, 2008 5:3 3

    The photos are beautiful! The family shot is fantastic…. and it gives me hope that at some point I just might be able to get a nice shot with my 3.

Leave a Reply

