Skip to content

Charro | Family

November 10, 2008

Her name is almost as cool as mine!

Of course I’m just kidding!! Isn’t Charro a great name!

Never pick up the phone when you’re kids are playing with very loud musical toys!! I did it just a few days ago when Charro called. I thought she said ‘Cheryl’ who is a good friend of mine that lives in Vancouver. I went on for quite some time until the conversation got so confusing I had to stop. I then realized it was Charro, another photographer here in St. John’s, who was asking me to photograph her family. Though we personally know each other I figured she would think I was loony after our conversation.

She must have forgiven my craziness because we went ahead with our great photo shoot just few days later.

Photographing another professional photographer has the potential of being slightly intimidating.  They will know how a photoshoot should go and it’s impossible to woo them with my big camera…their’s might actually be bigger!  Charro and her family set me at ease right away.  The great part was her kids loved to be in front of the camera, they posed for every shot and ‘mom and dad’ knew exactly how to move and look for the light. All I had to do was be creative!! That mixed with the last beautiful day of the year and I had a great time!!

10nov00110nov00310nov00210nov00410nov01110nov00810nov01210nov01310nov01010nov00510nov00610nov00910nov01410nov007

______________________________________________________________

PHOTOGRAPHY WORKSHOPS: Do you want to learn how to take photos like this? From turning your camera on to beginning your own business GET ON THE LIST for our photography workshops beginning February 2009

IMAGES FOR YOU: Need some great Christmas gift ideas or simply a beautiful image to fill your empty walls? You can now purchase images by Charla online!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. B'lah permalink
    November 10, 2008 5:3 3

    Just love those photos, beautiful family…….
    Great setting. The 4th last one is my favorite.

  2. November 10, 2008 5:3 3

    Thank you so much Charla, we absolutely love them! After 15 years of being together, we finally have pictures of our family together that we can proudly hang in our home.

    We had a ton of fun with you, and you understood exactly what we were looking for in a family portrait. Thank you so much for giving us something that we as a family can cherish forever.

  3. LoriMoss permalink
    November 10, 2008 5:3 3

    These are really beautiful! Great job Charla, and Charro you look awesome!

  4. Trever permalink
    November 11, 2008 5:3 3

    Great photos! I wish I lived in St. John’s to have you take pictures of my own family. Though we wouldn’t be nearly as easy to work with as my sister was for you. Of course, she would be upset with me even suggesting working with another photographer, these photos have me seriously thinking about it! If you are ever in the Toronto area, you might have extra work while you were here. Fantastic work!

  5. November 12, 2008 5:3 3

    Thanks Trevor. As Charro said to me, and I fully agree, it’s always nice to see a new perspective. Nomatter how great you are the next person sees the world differently. So, with Charro’s blessing, next time I spend more than 5 hours at Pearson I’ll let you know 😉

Leave a Reply

