Skip to content

Christmas Outtakes

November 4, 2008

I use to be a avid card maker. Every fall since university I would begin making, by hand, cards to send to family and friends. I loved doing it but when my son came along I realized I wouldn’t have time for such things. It was about 5 years ago that I decided to start photographing my Christmas Cards. I knew a lot of people already did such things…you know the ones…the family Sears portrait printed an extra long postcard with a tacky graphic and simple greeting. Well I didn’t want to do that. So I came up with a little Christmas-y setting and photographed my son in it. Last year we had Lori do take our family photo.

2008 marks my first Christmas session with the two boys. It’s the first time I’ve really attempted a photoshoot with the two of them…and somewhat crazily I decided to take it on alone. I thought I would share the outtakes from the shoot (the best image is a surprise to everyone on my card list). As you will notice our oldest is quite the poser and a good listener. Jesse on the other hand will not respond to anything I do or say.

First I tried to get Jesse’s attention by asking him about certain body parts. Though he actually acknowledged my presence it wasn’t quite the look I was going for.

We brought out the Santa hats which fascinated them both! The interaction between the brothers is simply precious in the next few images. But I still didn’t make eye contact with them both at the same time.

Jesse mostly wanted to do his own tricks…though cute, not quite what the grandparents want to see 😉 This photo is actually my favorite and if I had the say (you think I would being the mother and photographer but I don’t) this would be our Christmas card photo. But I guess it really wouldn’t be fair to Jesse; he just wouldn’t get as much face time as Liam.

Jesse walked around the set like this for quite some time. He thought he was pretty cool.

In fact Liam was the cool one. Check out this closer look at his little four year old face!

Sweet, sweet Christmas boys.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Erica permalink
    November 4, 2008 5:3 3

    OMG, I love all of these photo’s, they are just too sweet!!!
    Liam is such a sweetheart, a little man and Jesse is a character, just from the pictures I can tell he’s has the funny way about him (like Tristan) LoL.
    They are two very handsome little boys!!!
    Take care
    Erica

  2. November 4, 2008 5:3 3

    Thanks Erica.

    Jesse is a character! Mostly he just does his own thing all day every day! I’m looking forward to meeting Tristan and getting to photograph him on your wedding day!! BTW I’ll have your slideshow up soon, gonna be good!

  3. B'lah permalink
    November 4, 2008 5:3 3

    OH MY!! I just LOVE every one, but some more than other, I think Erica has a good eye, she figured it all out about Liam and Jesse.
    Just beautiful photography. The one is Liam alone………beautiful! I agree with you on number 4, really, really nice. But it would be had to choose. The colors are perfect.

  4. November 4, 2008 5:3 3

    They are perfect (the boys and the photos…I don’t feel that way often about my work so I’m aloud to say it once in awhile 🙂

    But the actual Christmas card photo I used is not here and I know you’ll love it mom!

  5. November 4, 2008 5:3 3

    These are gorgeous! What little sweethearts. 🙂

  6. goldberry00 permalink
    November 4, 2008 5:3 3

    ok my favorite photos of your entire photographic life! I think. I love them that much!

  7. Shannon permalink
    November 4, 2008 5:3 3

    Anna and I were looking at the pics and Anna goes…
    “Mommy, is that Liam?”
    “Yes” I say.
    Then she gets a thoughtful sad look on her face and says;
    “But Mommy he’s so grown up.”

  8. November 4, 2008 5:3 3

    That’s so cute. I wonder if Anna remembers him as little and thinks he will still be that way!! Never know what goes in little people’s minds.

  9. B'lah permalink
    November 4, 2008 5:3 3

    I think Liam looks soooo much older that he is….that’s in the one my himself.

  10. November 4, 2008 5:3 3

    I agree with Aunt Beulah! Liam looks even older in these shots.

  11. melissa permalink
    November 5, 2008 5:3 3

    Charla, are you going to upload these for STOCK…..I really think they will sell…..Xmas photos are selling like crazy now! So get your xmas photos up online girl!

  12. Tracy Babstock permalink
    November 11, 2008 5:3 3

    Your work is amazing, the pics are beautiful! The boys are really good for the photos. I wish I had the time and energy to attempt something on my own. I did for Justins first year, but he always knows when you are about to take a picture now. As for Cole… he is my wild child! Anyhow I love to see your creative work! =)

  13. November 11, 2008 5:3 3

    Thanks Tracy. Boys are tough. Liam is actually easy to photograph but Jesse refuses to look in any direction of the camera. You just gotta sit and wait, very patiently!!!

Leave a Reply

