Skip to content

Ugly is Beautiful – the Challange

October 18, 2008

Jessica has been posting our Exercises on her blog so I thought this time around I would follow suit.   Here I will post the rules for our ‘Exercise’ and when our deadline is up I’ll post what I came up with.

Now I have a challenge to you.  The hope in doing these exercises is that we would be discovering new techniques and shooting outside of our comfort zones.  The challenges are also a great way for people like you to read the rules and follow along with your own photography.  Whether you’ve been doing that already or just wishing you were this is the time for you to really get going.

We want you to take the challenge with us!

When you’ve got something you think is half decent send it to me. Or if you have your own blog, post it there and link back to me.  I’d love to see what you are creating.  You can than take it a step further and if you ask I will post your image (pick just one of your fave’s) when I post my own images for the Exercises.  I love to watch how Jessica and I come up with such different ideas, it would be really great to throw some more of you in the mix.

This can be the first time you seriously pick up a camera or you can be shooting longer than me, it doesn’t matter just give it a try.

Now that I’ve got you thinking I will introduce the next Exercise.

UGLY IS BEAUTIFUL!

Most photographers go after the beautiful object…why not, it’s beautiful and usually easier to photograph.  Beautiful people, glowing sunsets and colorful flowers are the subject of many a photograph.

But isn’t beauty in the eye of the beholder?  As photographers we need to see beauty everywhere in a way that we can capture a moment or a scene as it was felt.  Beauty can be found in a loving couple but it can also be found in a broken heart?  Beauty is evident in a tall blossoming tree but what about a fallen dead tree?  New things hold much beauty but can something that is decaying and worn hold it as well?

Challenge #4 is to search for things that most people would pass by as ‘eye sores’, things that belong in a dump or should be destroyed and forgotten.  Make something that is ugly be beautiful!

yellow peeling paint

The deadline is 10 days from now which is Monday, October 27th.  Oh, I just realized that’s close to Halloween and this is a great Halloween Challenge! Go, have fun and see you back here in 10 days…actually come back everyday but I wanna see your images in 10.

PS. When you send your images, whether for just my eyes or for my blog, please be sure to downsize it so that my inbox doesn’t overload! Thanks!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2008 5:3 3

    Good challenge once again! I like it. Your challenges always leave me feeling all inspired!

  2. goldberry00 permalink
    October 21, 2008 5:3 3

    Can I enter too?!!!! My house is full of ugly things lol.

  3. October 21, 2008 5:3 3

    Of course, but it’s not a contest. Just for fun to keep us shooting!! If we send I will post! Bring on the UGLY!

Trackbacks

  1. Challange…find ugly? «

Leave a Reply

