Skip to content

Digital Albums

October 16, 2008

I am always trying to find ways to slow down.  You might think I’m good at that if you saw the housework that needs to be done around here.  But I’m not. I’ve started a project…digitally scrapbooking the last two years of our life.  Two years is a lot of work but as I am planning on giving out books as Christmas presents (everyone knows already) I have to get to work now.

As I was working today I thought about sharing a page or two with you.  These images were from a photoshoot I did of the boys last year for our Christmas cards (for anyone who got my card last year, I didn’t end up using this image).  Getting back to the purpose of this post, I wanted to inspire everyone to start thinking about what you will be sending out this year.  If you would like a professional shoot of course send me a note (idea(at)charla.ca).  But if you would like to give it a try yourself this little setup is quite simple.

We already had our tree set up because it was closer to Christmas but if you don’t want to wait ’till last minute you can set up a temporary Christmas background (tree, wreath in window, red blanket, etc).  I simply sat the kids on the couch in front of the tree.  I sat them on the couch so that the tree would less disturbing than if they had sat on the floor. I dressed the kids in similar colors but not too obvious ‘Christmas’ or ‘matchy’. I then gave them a few Christmasy objects to play with: a snow globe, candy canes and non-breakable ornaments. The objects kept their attention and added to the Christmas sentiment.  If you are not confident in your lighting skills be sure to shoot during the day and make your set-up close to a window with lots of natural light pouring in.

Remember, don’t stress! Your kids will feel it and will most likely start crying.  If all else fails call me (709.765.7367)!  I’m starting to gear up for shooting cute little kiddos in Christmas settings!  To answer any digital album questions, I use iPhoto (part of iLife) for MAC.  I love it.  It’s simple to use with great themes, though I custom design all my own pages.

While I’m talking about albums I will let you know that an upcoming post will be talking about and demonstrating the most popular album I use for my weddings. Can’t wait to show you!

Christmas Pages

One Comment leave one →
  1. B'lah permalink
    October 16, 2008 5:3 3

    I love those pictures, the first one is very artistic. \i can’t believe that Jesse has grown so much.

Leave a Reply

