Skip to content

Half Way Home

September 28, 2008

We had visitors from Kelowna, British Columbia this past week. What a joy to have their peace and creativity around. James is a musician and Nikki is a Painter. James’ sister and I were roommates in BC and I knew James very well as my roomies little bro. Now he’s all grown up and has an incredibly beautiful and wonderful wife. On their tour of Canada they graciously spent a few days with our crazy family at the mid way point of their journey.

My friend Jessica also knows them as family and has the privilege of photographing their wedding. Jessica and I put out a challange to each other to photograph James and Nikki on each end of the continent. The catch is, we cannot post till both shoots are done. I’ve dreamed of photographing these two since I first heard they were engaged. A few days ago at Cape Spear (the most easterly point of Canada) my dreams were realized. We had an incredibly inspiring few hours walking around the lighthouses and taking in the sights.

Two teaser photos are all I can post right now. I felt the essence of the first photo was completely unique to the rest of the shoot. So in a month or so when they are settled back home and have their second I will post the rest.

Thanks James and Nikki for making my job really easy! Lots of love to you both and I wish you safe yet adventurous travels back home. – Charla

James and Nikki on the Stairs

Nikki's Profile

4 Comments leave one →
  1. B'lah permalink
    September 28, 2008 5:3 3

    Beautiful, I love the way the land trails away in the background of the second shot.
    Nikki is a beautiful girl, actually they are both easy on the eye.
    I will be looking forward seeing the remainder of the shoot.

  2. goldberry00 permalink
    September 29, 2008 5:3 3

    I looooove these shots! They are photogenic and it’s a great location, sure, but it takes a talented photographer to bring it all together.

  3. jessicabalfour permalink
    September 30, 2008 5:3 3

    Amazing teasers Charla!!! I need to get thinking now on some ideas! They ARE fabulous to photograph though, I know!

Trackbacks

  1. James + Nikki | Anytime «

Leave a Reply

