Skip to content

Exercise TWO

September 22, 2008

Finally I have Exercise two completed (See Exercise One).  Even though I set the rules, I had a hard time getting inspired this week.  Sometimes I think about things too much and forget that inspiration is everywhere yet can’t be forced. Once I let it go I saw the ‘light’ which is ironic since that was the theme of Exercise Two but not overly ironic since light is what photography is all about.  After seeing Jessica’s interpretation I was excited and scared to see what I could come up with.

The first part of the Exercise was to photograph using natural light but from the ‘dark side’. I love this perspective. I believe it is often more dramatic and draws out the emotion.  Here is my photo:

fire boy 2

Part Two and Three somewhat melded together into one. Part two was to photograph using a lightsource other than the sun and Part Three was to photograph at night. Jessica did really well separating the two and coming out with two very different images. Here are two images of my boys as they went to sleep tonight.

sleeoing boy

I posted this photo simply cause he was so cute, but he was so far out the little nightlight that the images itself is not clear.

extra

This was to be the artificial light source photo. I like to call it “Guitar Hero”.

guitar hero

5 Comments leave one →
  1. B'lah permalink
    September 22, 2008 5:3 3

    I love all of them.

  2. goldberry00 permalink
    September 22, 2008 5:3 3

    I’m not used to seeing you shoot dark and moody like this…I have to say, the shot of Liam in bed is like a whole new dimension in your portfolio! It’s really fantastic. And well him in the fireman’s hat is just too darn cute for words! Great light in all these shots.

  3. September 22, 2008 5:3 3

    Oh this kind of light inspires me soooo much! I want to head my wesddings in this sort of direction…emotional light. It’s just difficult shooting this way in the middle of the day…but I will!

  4. goldberry00 permalink
    September 22, 2008 5:3 3

    I saw in one of DJ’s videos a little suction cup thing that holds a flash onto any object at any angle for creating lighting in any situation essentially! I’ll google it and see if I can find one online…imagine the possibilities for shooting at night!

  5. September 22, 2008 5:3 3

    Charla the one of Liam in the bed is awesome. I love the soft low light! It’s very dramatic but in a quiet gentle way. What an awesome challenge you had. I really enjoyed it. I sometimes forget just how important remembering light is when taking a photo. This challenge has been a good reminder to take note of the light..it can make the difference of good photo and an AMAZING photo!

Leave a Reply

