Skip to content

Photographer FAQ

August 8, 2008

……………………………………………………………
CHARLA.CA FAQ LIST
Photographer FAQ
Wedding Booking FAQ
Wedding Package FAQ
Wedding Day FAQ

Must-Have Shot List
……………………………………………………………

Before you even start to look at photographers you need to know yourself what you are looking for. There are a lot of different photography styles out there and even more so there are a lot of different personalities taking the photos. Here is a list of questions you should be asking and of course, my answers.

1. What’s your primary style? (Posed and formal, relaxed, photojournalistic, creative, artistic, candid, traditional?) You (Bride & Groom) need to decide what you are looking for before you even look at photographers.

With the variety of photographic styles today there is no reason for you to hire a photographer of a style you don’t really like. Be sure to look thoroughly through portfolios to get an understanding of what you will be getting .

My Style? I believe I am a happy mix between photojournalistic (standing back and photographing moments that happen with no input from me) and giving creative direction. I will never say you MUST do something and I only do what you are comfortable with. A great way to get to know each other is through an engagement session (which is included in several of my packages). It’s a great time to get to know how we will work together on the wedding day and to put you at ease in front of a big lens.

2. What are your credentials? Experience is key to getting a good photographer. Schooling and artistic background are a bonus. This is important simply because you need to know if you are getting your money’s worth. It is my opinion that a beginner photographer shouldn’t be charging high prices but as I was once a beginner I do believe in giving someone a chance, just don’t expect as high quality products as an experienced photographer. As not to confuse you, I am not a beginner. I have been photographing weddings since the turn of the Millenium.

My Credentials: I did my undergrad at the University of Calgary and graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts specializing in Photography. I went on to do graduate studies at Sheridan College in Interactive Multimedia. I have experience working specifically in Photography, Web Design, Graphic Design and Marketing. I have always been first and foremost a Photographer. I believe all my skills work together to take my photography to the leading edge.

3. Why should I hire you? I assure you that I have the skill and experience to photograph your wedding in any location, weather and company. I began photographing weddings with film camera and was amongst the first wedding photographers to have digital cameras and a photojournalistic style. I remember when I designed my first online portfolio it was difficult to find anything to compare it to.

Since I am a visual artist by nature I also pride myself in the fact that every photo I take is not only a memory of your day but a piece of art that will document it. I use nothing but the best and most up to date equipment, software and online solutions (ie Pictage) and am devoted to educating myself every year through online opportunities as well as photography seminars.

4. Do you shoot in black and white or color? I shoot everything in color. This allows me to convert any photo in post-production to black and white and other digital effects. This is where my artistry really comes into play. I can normally not contain myself from working with images and creatively enhancing them. I do promise to always have the original color file for your choice.

To see my portfolio and view my prices please visit my website at www.charla.ca and of course feel free to email or call me (709.765.7367) with any other questions or concerns!

Charla

……………………………………………………………
CHARLA.CA FAQ LIST
Photographer FAQ
Wedding Booking FAQ
Wedding Package FAQ
Wedding Day FAQ

Must-Have Shot List
……………………………………………………………

Leave a Reply

