Skip to content

O Happy Day!

June 29, 2008

mom and dad

Just a few years ago today my mother came into the world a screaming little baby!! And as my grandmother tells it, she screamed for quite a few years after! But we never heard that story till we were all grown up!! My mother is the second child of three girls. She grew up in a quaint little town called Happy Adventure in the province of Newfoundland. Her childhood was spent in the same town as mine was to be and only a five minute walk up the road from where my memories are.

I couldn’t ask for a better mother, a mother who’s prayers reached from one ocean to another and who’s love circles the world many times over. Her gift as a mother was to teach her children to take every opportunity and life live fully each day. She showed us the love of the Lord and that in Him all things are possible and He would be our strength. She never tried to hold us back from what we wanted to do because she was afraid of losing us or that we might live too far away. She trained our wings and let us fly. If my grandmother were still alive I would thank her today for giving me my mom. As a mom myself I have a lot to live up to and to be thankful for…especially her exquisite skin that I fear only was passed to my sister.

Happy Birthday Mom!! Wish I could be there, instead I will see you in a few days.

ps. I can’t take credit for the above photo since it was taken in 1972.  It is my favorite photo of mom and dad together in their youth…a lifetime ahead of them

4 Comments leave one →
  1. B'lah permalink
    June 29, 2008 5:3 3

    Thank you Charla.
    Looking forward to seeing you next weekend.

  2. June 29, 2008 5:3 3

    That is the sweetest birthday wish ever! What a wonderful Mom! And… if I remember your skin correctly, it’s *very* beautiful so she must have given it to you too! :^D

  3. B'lah permalink
    July 1, 2008 5:3 3

    I forgot to say this photo was taken on New Year’s Eve…..

  4. crystal permalink
    July 2, 2008 5:3 3

    Your Mom looks just like Cindy’s sister, Sharon in this photo
    Beautiful picture!

Leave a Reply

