Skip to content

Day Of

May 31, 2008

Today is the day of my son’s fourth birthday party. After being sick (and still feeling it) I’ve had to plan an at home party. Though having an on location party is expensive it sure is a lot less work. Before I even had my own kids I loved to make ‘special’ birthday cakes. This year we’re having a CARS theme so I thought I’d create a Mack Truck cake. As I planned it I decided to give fondant a try. Thought I know this photograph is not worthy of being called professional I had to post it for the mere reason that it has taken up my precious time and I want to make it feel important by posting it for the world. Plus when I googled Mack Truck Cake there was barely one to be found. So maybe, if there is one other mom out there somewhere looking for inspiration for their sons birthday cake…you can do this too. This was my first try with fondant and I had no professional help (any professional cake maker can see that!).

Mack Cake

Bug Cupcakes. I walked around Dominion reminding myself to buy ‘bug heads’ for about an hour. I really hope I wasn’t muttering anything aloud. In the end they were a big hit with the preschool kids on thursday.

Bug Cupcakes

4 Comments leave one →
  1. B'lah permalink
    May 31, 2008 5:3 3

    The cake looks much better in life than in photo.

  2. May 31, 2008 5:3 3

    I have a feeling that cake was way cool in real life! And those bug cupcakes? So much fun! I would’ve loved to have some of those when I was a kid…errr even now to be honest.

  3. Cherie permalink
    June 4, 2008 5:3 3

    Wow..amazing job Charla!!

  4. April 21, 2010 5:3 3

    Now THAT’S what I’m talking about! Check out my blog:

    Fast Food Restaurant Parties: Who Needs Them?

    crackerbox1
    http://www.crackerbox.net.au

Leave a Reply

