Skip to content

ER

May 17, 2008

Sometimes being a mom means having to post lots of photos of kids…not just any kids, my kids. Why? Because they are just so beautiful and amazing that I have to share them with the world.

And sometimes being a mom means spending a night in the emergency room. I was caught off guard since my 4yr old wasn’t really all that sick. I hate the moment when you have to decide is it time to go or should we wait. If we had waited we no doubt would have gone by ambulance. We entered the hospital with no fever and normal oxygen levels. Not half an hour later he was in an all out croup attack. If you’ve never experienced it it’s much like asthma. I knew he’d be ok but he didn’t. He hated it all and, though I wasn’t scared, when he squeezed my finger over and over (because that was our ‘scared’ signal) it nearly broke my heart.

We’re home now. We got back around 7am. I managed five minutes here and there of sleep. So today, is a pictureless post. When I muster up some energy and the fog clears from my eyes I’ll consider a post later. Today I’m thanking the Lord for emergency medicine and the people that know exactly what to do…oh yes and I’m thankful also for my beautiful niece Kassi who slept on our couch so we didn’t have to wake our littlest guy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2008 5:3 3

    I totally know what you are going thought…with the croup…My oldest was it….we had to drive from Eastport to Gander when he was 2 years old….on Christmas Eve at 12am and we never got back home until 5am Christmas morning! he has also been in hospital down here for two days with it…and he had to have 6 needles….not fun stuff! If Dylan gets wet outside and he does not change his clothes…he gets the croup!

    I hope he feels better soon!

  2. May 17, 2008 5:3 3

    Oh Melissa, that’s awful. Liam hasn’t had to be admitted yet. I guess that’s the next step. It can last till they’re eight or so. Right now I’m just hoping that we get through the night without having to go in again.

  3. B'lah permalink
    May 17, 2008 5:3 3

    Poor little guy, he must have been so-o-o-o scared.

  4. May 18, 2008 5:3 3

    Poor Liam! And poor Charla for having no sleep. At least, like you said, he’s going to be okay.

Leave a Reply

