Skip to content

In Death

May 12, 2008

Today’s post is in remembrance of a fish plant worker named Larry. I recognize that he was not just a fish plant worker. The community of Happy Adventure is based largely, if not solely, around the local Fish Plant, HASP (Happy Adventure Sea Products). Larry spent much of his time there as did his brothers and many of the people he knew. I did not know him personally but I did notice him that day on the wharf and for some reason I felt as though I singled him out to photograph him. When I heard the news I thought instantly of the photos that for even a stranger reason did not make it to my blog. Today I’m posting them in remembrance of a life.

Larry died tragically on the 9th of May after a fatal fall while working. These photos were taken on the 26th of April, just two weeks before his accident. They’ve been sent to his family in hopes of bringing them comfort as possibly the last photos taken of him. I don’t know much about Larry but I do know that every life is precious and his seemed to end too soon. He was in his late 40’s.

Larry

larry double take

6 Comments leave one →
  1. B'lah permalink
    May 12, 2008 5:3 3

    Larry will be missed.

  2. Nancy Turner permalink
    May 12, 2008 5:3 3

    Thank you, Charla. On behalf of our grieving family, we are very proud of the pictures that you have taken, and that you were able to take the time to pay tribute to my uncle. He will be missed.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    May 12, 2008 5:3 3

    Very nice pics Charla … I’m a firm believer in “you’re in a certain place at a certain time for a reason” and it was your time to capture these photos for his family, even if you didn’t realize it at the time.

  4. May 12, 2008 5:3 3

    I agree ‘anonymous’. I was just about to reply to Nancy with something along those lines. Being able to have photos like this of a loved one ‘in their element’ is a priceless thing and is the first reason why I am a photographer.

  5. goldberry00 permalink
    May 13, 2008 5:3 3

    Great post today Charla, unfortunately the circumstances aren’t better! Like Nancy said, I’m sure these pictures will mean a lot to his family for a long time to come.

  6. May 13, 2008 5:3 3

    How tragic. It’s really neat that you got these pictures of him though. I’m sure his family will treasure them.

    :^(

Leave a Reply

