Skip to content

My Mother

May 11, 2008

I’m not posting a photo of my mother. But I am posting a sense of what she has given me. Though this home is not my childhood home and I would really give almost anything to go back to my childhood home these photos are still a place that makes me warm, happy and secure. It doesn’t matter that these walls have only been alive for a few years, they are the walls that hold my family…the place where I come from.

I’ve stated many times in this blog that I don’t claim to be a writer. That statement poses a problem when it comes to writing about my mother because I want everyone to know how amazing she really is. But as I write I know that YOU (yes You, the person reading this) has a mother as well. And whatever your situation or her situation you love her deep in your heart. As I struggle to find the words to write about my mother think for a second about your own mother and all she has done for you, even if it was only bringing you into the world. She gave you life.

My mother is the person who gave me life and taught me how to live it.

Home

Here is a photo dear to my heart of the women who gave my mom life. If you didn’t know my grandmother this photo tells a lot of who she was. One, she was a GREAT cook…her recipes are still trying to be replicated. Two, she loved to cook for other people…which meant she loved caring for other people. The way she sits with her apron on, waiting for dinner to cook and the table set perfectly for everyone to take their place. I remember the exact second I pointed the camera in her direction. The next frame she gave me a big smile. I chose this frame because it was how she sat naturally waiting patiently with all her family around her. A completely candid moment and one that embraces, for our family, the women we remember her to be. It was also the last visit I had with her in her full health.

This mother’s day will be the first without her on this earth. But we know that in death there is life, ‘for me to live is Christ, to die is gain’ – Philippians 1:21

Nan

I love you Mom!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. B'lah permalink
    May 12, 2008 5:3 3

    Thank you Charla..
    Also, thank you for a wonderful surprise.
    I enjoyed MOther’s Day so much, last nigt it was very lonely, we missed you.

  2. May 13, 2008 5:3 3

    What a neat post.

    I’m so bummed because WordPress ate my Mother’s Day post. :^( My site went down for a few hours on Sunday and when it came back up my Mother’s Day post was vaporized. Very bummed.

Leave a Reply

