Skip to content

Where People Live

May 3, 2008

Gulls are not the only thing you might find on an ice pan in Newfoundland. I haven’t been lucky enough to have the opportunity to photograph a Polar Bear in the wild (though there are some beautiful ones in Sea World…I’m not saying I liked the poor guys being caged in) but there have been some on our island this spring.

Birds on Ice

I hope the people in the yellow house have enough rations to last till the ice recedes. And I hope no Polar Bears come their way.

Both of the photos below give me a sense of isolation that so many communities in Newfoundland have to deal with. Though all homes can have roads, tv and internet if they choose there are still so many communication issues in isolated communities and I wouldn’t hesitate to say the city has some too. With a surplus of 1 Billion dollars and the same outlook for next years budget it is my hope that all Newfoundlanders will break down their isolation barriers and except with open arms the changes that are going to come. I’m looking forward to it.

Ice in the Bay

2 Comments leave one →
  1. B'lah permalink
    May 3, 2008 5:3 3

    I love the photo of the seagulls.
    Except for their beaks, it’s almost black and white!

  2. goldberry00 permalink
    May 3, 2008 5:3 3

    I really like the second gull shot, it’s tough to get such a nice shot with their wings up like that!

    I was watching the national news yesterday and they were discussing Newfoundland’s surplus and the coming years. The consensus was that our provincial gov’t is being very careful with the extra money over the next few years since our oil patch is being measured in ‘decades’ not ‘centuries’ like in Alberta. Apparently the newfie oil is very finite even with Hebron.

    Here’s to hoping all this money goes somewhere useful …. like filling in POT HOLES. lol

Leave a Reply

