Skip to content

‘Art is a Verb’

April 16, 2008

I’m really enjoying procrastinating as both kids are asleep and it is a beautiful day to be stuck in the house.  I’ve been parousing a few blogs.  I ended up reading about the same topic from two people and it stuck with me.  But, as I like to do, I will simply post the link for you to follow (if you dare) and I won’t write much on it myself.  I did comment so be sure to read it as well.  Then, if you can conjure the energy and remember me at the same time, come back and tell me about it.  I know, that’s way too much work.  I hope you get something from it anyways.

Check out ‘Art is a Verb’ as written by Gordon Mcgregor.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2008 5:3 3

    My thought on the matter has always been; why bring your camera? How about just driving out to your favorite spot, enjoying the beauty, and getting back in your car.

    Then again I only read the posts, not the articular. It’s too long for someone who just came from writing a 20 page exam.

  2. April 17, 2008 5:3 3

    I agree Lori (what that’s two people agreeing with you in two days), just don’t take the camera. But the posts talked about enjoying the moments of taking the photos, capturing them, feeling them. However I do believe that if you can’t take the photo than you really should be enjoying life and not a camera…does that make me less of a photographer?

    Example: During an important moment like the birth of my child I wouldn’t want to be looking through a camera if it wasn’t going to capture anything. I would want to see with my own eyes.

  3. April 29, 2008 5:3 3

    I’d hope you wouldn’t be looking through a camera at the moment of the birth of your child at all, taking or not taking pictures 🙂

    But in general my experience has been that I can have quite radically different levels of connection to a subject or a place, when I am using a camera to explore it, than if I just turned up without a camera. When I don’t have a camera I do just what Lori described. I enjoy the beauty, then I get back into my car.

    With a camera, I spend a whole lot more time looking, exploring, being connected. Running in and out of the ocean. Making pictures. Connecting and seeing at a different level – because I had a camera with me.

    The end pictures don’t matter much, but the experience of taking them is a lot more than just turning up and enjoying the place. The process of taking pictures was where the pleasure in the moment came from. Not being there. Not the pictures I got later. But the taking of the pictures.

  4. April 29, 2008 5:3 3

    Funny, I was just downloading images from our mini vacation. There was a point when I was taking photos of my kids on the beach and I decided to put the camera away so I could spend time with them (which I am in no way about to say was a bad thing).

    Today, as I was reviewed my images, I realized there was something special about taking the photos. There was a point when my youngest was with his grandmother and I was with my older son. If I hadn’t stopped to photograph them I would have missed the whole moment of them throwing rocks and him enjoying the ocean for the first time.

    For the first time I really realized what you (Gordon) just said, “With a camera, I spend a whole lot more time looking, exploring, being connected. Running in and out of the ocean. Making pictures. Connecting and seeing at a different level – because I had a camera with me.”

    Thanks, I had an epiphany today. I don’t ever ‘waste’ time taking photos, I don’t ‘miss’ something by having a camera in front of my face, I actually experience things that are impossible without my beloved camera. (I think I knew this subconsciously, now I just know how to voice it) And thanks, Gordon, for visiting!

Leave a Reply

