Skip to content

Time

April 8, 2008
tags: , , ,

I’ve been going through a lot of old photos lately. I started out looking for a specific photo I wanted to enter in Battlesnap. I couldn’t find it. I realized that there is a lot of old stuff missing from my portfolio. Since I got my first digital camera I have made four moves through three different provinces…including from British Columbia to Newfoundland. No wonder stuff has gone missing. It is sad to think some of those images may never be seen again. I have contacted an old friend to see if she can send copies of images I took of her (the one I wanted for Battlesnap) but you know how that goes. I’m certainly not good at getting things in the mail so I can’t say anything about her either.

My point is: This image is one I took as I experimented with my first digital. My only disappointment with the camera was that it didn’t handle well in low light. Cameras have some a long way since my first Canon D60. When I bought the D60 there was still a large debate over getting it or a large format camera. Whew, how times have changed. This photo was taken in low light. I still didn’t own my own studio lights and I wanted to see if it could handle as well as I my film camera.

My roommate and I had a great idea for a series of photos called ‘Time’. She is a very talented singer and was ever-willing to by my subject. Lucky for me I was also into graphic design and web development which meant I knew how to manipulate images fairly well. That came in handy when I realized my new camera didn’t have a clue how to deal in low light (or maybe it was me, I still dunno). As a sidenote, I remember, waaaay back then, having to convince my wedding clients that digital was the wave of the future

Time

I’m sipping wine, listening to some Enya and feeling pretty sentimental as I write. These were the days of living carefree with so many hopes and dreams of the future. Those were the years when I made a best friend, when I met my husband and where I long to be. Maybe one day the first digital images will be somewhat of a relic like having film images would be now.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. goldberry00 permalink
    April 8, 2008 5:3 3

    This shot wouldn’t make sense with good studio ligthing…it works with the slight blur, slight grain, and a little darkness. I’ve always loved this shot (p.s. Candace’s hair rocks!).

  2. Blair permalink
    April 8, 2008 5:3 3

    Yes i remember those early days when you switched to digital. I knew film would dissappear soon but what i remember thinking at the time was Holy Shnikes! that’s a lot of money for a camera…wasn’t it like $5 grand, now found for 10 times the quality @ a quarter the price. You were a pioneer of the digital age.
    Yes my wifes’ hair was pretty cool, it always is

  3. Blair permalink
    April 8, 2008 5:3 3

    maybe you should explain the reason it’s a series called time…. why is she crying, did i say something?

  4. Blair permalink
    April 8, 2008 5:3 3

    when you click on the image it comes up as a greekk med burger….?

  5. April 8, 2008 5:3 3

    Yes, I was having issues with the images last night. Since wordpress switched to their new dashboard things don’t always work.

    I kind of remember the camera being in that price range. For that I can get a real nice camera now.

  6. candace permalink
    April 10, 2008 5:3 3

    Ahhhhh. The good old days. I love seeing this photo again, it really takes me back to a time we both knew was limited and special. You really were a pioneer in the digital camera arena. I remember when you brought it home it was a big decision to go digital, and an exciting one. Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

