Skip to content

Juxtaposition

April 1, 2008

Today is April Foods, but the fool today is the one that thinks spring is in the air. Lori and I have been out shooting two nights in a row and the chill won’t leave my bones, my poor husband has been sick in bed all week (and it takes a lot to bring him down) and the kids are going house crazy. As a defense to keep my sanity I am pretending it’s January 1st.

My birthday is in a few days and can you imagine I actually have birthday photos of an outdoor party with everyone wearing shorts…here in newfoundland…and those were photoshopless days. If my parents weren’t in FLORIDA I would attempt to dig them out for a post. Enough complaining and on to the photos.

The Mannequins are my favorite shot of the night (march30th). At first I thought I liked them because they stood so still for me but I realized I like the ghostliness more.

What I really love about the first shot is how stately they stand. So proud, as though they were wearing couture. Looming into the shot comes the telling sign of a sale…what I would imagine to be every couture designer’s nightmare. I think it’s a good juxtaposition.

Mannequins

4 Comments leave one →
  1. goldberry00 permalink
    April 1, 2008 5:3 3

    I love the tones…my fave is the top image. I just love these..

  2. blair permalink
    April 1, 2008 5:3 3

    i admire your courageous spirit for art. i wouldn’t step outside if it were that cold. What a cool idea to go out for some night shots. You two are Extreme

  3. April 1, 2008 5:3 3

    These are beautiful images … and deceptively warm in terms of the tonal quality!

    I am a student/mother and starting up a short term blogsite to explore motherhood and identity with mothers who would like to join up. The site is http://www.mothersvoice.ca. Would you be able to post an invitation to this conversation. I would like to hear from mothers all over Canada.
    Thanks!
    Trish

  4. April 2, 2008 5:3 3

    nice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

