Skip to content

The Battery

March 25, 2008

I didn’t learn the name of this place until today.  My husband and I found it on a drive not long after we moved here. I’m been on and around Signal Hill a million times but had never been around this little spot called The Battery until this past year. For some odd and strange reason I dream of buying a home there one day (but only after I purchase a place on some tropical beach).

The homes are built among jagged rocks and steep cliffs surrounding the entrance to St. John’s harbour and just under Signal Hill. Apparently they have been subject to fatal avalanches and rockfalls…maybe not exactly a place for a dream home.

Red Door Lighthouse

Visit this red door in a previous post.

White with Lighthouse

As we walked amongst this inspiring little village I felt very uninspired.  This place was the beginning of the history of our entire country and yet I couldn’t feel anything.  I look back on my photos and I can see my desperation.  The photos are terrible. 

Two things I learned:   Don’t force it.  That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t go out shooting when you don’t really feel like it.  It means go anyway and relax about it (Be anxious for nothing).  My purpose is simply to document a place I dearly love, not to win photo contests.  The second thing I learned is that inspiration sneaks up on you.  The lighthouse at the Narrows kept pointing itself out to me in almost all my photos.  It stands tall and strong even though you can’t always see the ocean.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2008 5:3 3

    Just goes to show how differently people see things; I never even noticed a lighthouse.

  2. March 25, 2008 5:3 3

    I love this red door… I know there is more meaning to the place than good photos but I can totally see that red door as a great backdrop for portraits…

    Speaking of which… I’m going to be taking Suzanne (Hannah) and Calvin’s engagement pictures… what is the best spot to do this in (or several, we are planning on taking a whole day)? I was hoping for some good city scenes, an old barn type location and a more natural (think trees and grasses) setting…

    My first inclinations were Prince’s Island Park and Fish Creek Park… but I need some location tips!

  3. adam permalink
    April 1, 2008 5:3 3

    great shot’s Charla

    ‘bones of buildings’

Leave a Reply

