Skip to content

Finding Joy

March 19, 2008

Yesterday I was much too busy to think about my post for today.

Here’s a portrait of why.

Snow Tunnels

I would consider this a self portrait.  After the ‘Storm of the Year’ there is nothing more fun then to take advantage of a so-called bad situation.   I took the opportunity to show my son some of the magic of being a child.  As I dug I thought, “I don’t remember this being so labor intensive!”  I was simply forgetting the end result.   When I broke through to the other side all the remembered joy flooded back with the light through the tunnel.  When my son saw the fruit of my labors all of his apprehension over what his crazy mother was doing suddenly left him.  I also realized that I now had adult strength and an adult shovel…the speed was incredulous!

As a child I remember being in one tunnel and my cousin in the other.  We would dig and dig and dig in the hopes of our hands meeting through an inner tunnel that we could communicate through.  That moment of sitting inside a tunnel looking through to my cousin in the next is as clear in my mind today as it was then.  And I remember the inside of every tunnel we ever built.

Yesterday was like being a child again but better.  This time I was with my son.  The photographs I took might not sell in a gallery for top dollar but in the Maarschalk house they are priceless.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 19, 2008 5:3 3

    Awesome awesome awesome.

    I don’t remember mom ever digging tunnels with us lol.

Leave a Reply

