Skip to content

The Mainstay (part 1)

March 8, 2008

‘The Mainstay’ is a series of collages representing the Newfoundland Fishery.

Please CLICK to view full image.

Fishing Boats

‘The MainStay’ is a representation of Newfoundland’s past, present and future. It was an opportunity that, unless you work in the field, you will not have many (if any) opportunities to experience for yourself. When I shot this scene I was terrified that I would miss something or screw up and not get anything at all. The opportunity was one that I hadn’t expected and therefore was also terribly unprepared for. Somewhere in the middle of the three fishing boats, the fishermen and the million or so seagulls I captured a million or so images. There is safety in numbers! Right? This would be a great scene to collage. The images were shot in 2003 offshore from Salvage, Newfoundland. The collage was created in 2008.

I considered writing a description about what the images mean to me or to our culture. But I decided to leave that up to you, to your experiences, to your thoughts.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. goldberry00 permalink
    March 8, 2008 5:3 3

    Great collage, but now I really want to see the shots of Ange/Jimmy/Ron on their own..I just love them!

Trackbacks

  1. Caught Up « charla.ca

Leave a Reply

