Skip to content

‘Bergs of Bonavista

February 20, 2008

The sickness seeped into my house about a week ago and it just won’t leave. Today, since I’m now infected, I’m again looking through my ‘collections’. In honor of the melting snow, the hope of spring and in some strange way my minor frostbite I thought I would add from of my ‘berg collection.

They were taken just off of Happy Adventure. A few people on our boat (I won’t name name’s) decided to be ‘brave‘ and climb on. Not long after they were again safe in our boat, albeit with frozen butts, the ‘berg flipped in front of our eyes. It was just a baby ‘berg but the power was unforgettable. The thought that the least we would have gotten was hypothermia is enough to know thatno one in my presence will ever do such a thing as that again.

The captain of our ship had bravely been telling us about his excursions as a boy on icebergs and the tremendous roar they make when they flip. It jarred us all into reality when it happened right before us. That’s the story, here are some photos.

Bergs of Bonavista

I have lots more but I’ll save them for another sick day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2008 5:3 3

    Charla… these are really breathtaking. I can only imagine seeing them in person!

  2. April 23, 2008 5:3 3

    Meant to add, I guess we’ll just *have* to visit Newfoundland sometime. ;^P

Trackbacks

  1. They’re Coming… « charla.ca

Leave a Reply

